1. Click image to expand

    Images courtesy of UIA architect

  2. Click image to expand

    Images courtesy of UIA architect

  3. Click image to expand

    Images courtesy of UIA architect

  4. Click image to expand

    Images courtesy of UIA architect


Nominations open for 2020 UIA Gold Medal and Prizes

Georgina Johnston
15 Jan 2020

Awarded to recognise the achievements of international consequence, the UIA Gold Medal and Prizes will be conferred at the Awards Ceremony during the 2020 UIA World Congress in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The UIA Gold Medal recognises outstanding architectural achievement by an architect or group of architects, taking into account all aspects of a body of work constructed over an extended period.

The UIA also awards the following five prizes:

  • The Patrick Abercrombie Prize for Urban Planning and Design, recognises exemplary works of urban and regional planning and design since it was first awarded in 1961.

  • The August Perret Prize for Technology in Architecture, rewards a body of work by a living architect characterised by technological excellence. 

  • The Jean Tschumi Prize for Architectural Writing recognises excellence in architectural criticism and writing since it was first awarded in 1967.

  • The Robert Matthew Prize for Sustainable & Humane Environments; since 1978 the prize has embodied the goals of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN-Habitat.

  • The Vassilis Sgoutas Prize for Implemented Architecture Serving the Impoverished; since 2008 the prize has recognised ingenious and implemented architectural solutions serving the impoverished.


Nominees for the UIA Gold Medal and the UIA Prizes may include any living architect, firm or collective entities comprising architects. The achievements of a firm or group must represent collaborative efforts over an extended period, with the same individuals as leaders of the group. Except in the case of the Jean Tschumi Prize, nominees must be professionally qualified architects or, in the case of group or team submissions, headed by a professionally qualified architect.


UIA Member Sections and UIA elected officials may nominate candidates of any nationality or place of residence. UIA Member Sections or elected UIA officials may submit up to three nominations, from different countries or all from the same country, for each prize. Nominations must conform to these regulations and the schedule published by the UIA Secretariat.


Member Sections and elected UIA officials may submit nominations for the Gold Medal and Prizes only in digital form, using the UIA Awards Platform. Nominations should include:

  • A brief curriculum vitae for the candidate

  • A photograph of the candidate, up to 5 MB

  • A statement from the nominating body or individual explaining the reasons for the nomination for a particular UIA Prize

  • A summary of the candidate’s work including a maximum of 10 photographs, maximum 5MB each, of the candidate’s work. In the case of the Jean Tschumi Prize, photographs can be replaced by scanned images of selected writings.

  • The UIA can accept materials only via the online platform, in any of the following formats: .docx, .pdf, .gif, .jpeg, .jpg, .png, .tif, .tiff, or .eps. The UIA cannot accept materials in other formats, or materials submitted by email, post or courier. Nomination materials must be in one of the two UIA working languages, French or English.


1 May 2020: Deadline for nominations

12 May 2020: Jury Meeting at UIA headquarters in Paris

19-23 July 2020: UIA RIO CONGRESS

22 July 2020: Awards Ceremony


Kai-Uwe Bergmann, Denmark

Nadia Somekh, Brazil

Eva Jiricna, Czech Republic

Weimin Zhuang, China

Thomas Vonier, USA

If the jury determines that no nominee is suitably qualified for an award, it may elect not to make an award.

For more information, please contact the UIA Secretariat:


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team