1. Click image to expand

    Dome (Siracusa, Italy, 2011), a brick pavilion built with a man-controlled revolving compass. Design-build studio led by prof. Luigi Alini and AION (Aleksandra Jaeschke and Andrea Di Stefano). Photo: Francesco Lopes.

  2. Click image to expand

    I Ramarri (Siracusa, Italy, 2012), terraced houses overlooking an agrarian landscape framed by the sea. Project by AION (Aleksandra Jaeschke and Andrea Di Stefano).

  3. Click image to expand

    Lost Highway (Siracusa, Italy, 2009), a live-work space set in an agrarian landscape. Project by AION (Aleksandra Jaeschke and Andrea Di Stefano).

  4. Click image to expand

    Periscope (Siracusa, Italy, 2012), a house overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Project by AION (Aleksandra Jaeschke and Andrea Di Stefano).


Call for Submissions: Harvard Graduate School of Design’s 2020 Wheelwright Prize

Alison Carter
12 Nov 2019

This international competition for early-career architects offers the opportunity to win $100,000 research fellowship accepting applications through January 26, 2020

The Harvard Graduate School of Design (Harvard GSD) has announced the 2020 cycle of the Wheelwright Prize, an open international competition that awards $100,000 to a talented early-career architect to support expansive, intensive design research. 

The deadline for submissions is Sunday, January 26, 2020. Applications will be accepted online only, at wheelwrightprize.org. 

This annual prize is dedicated to advancing original architectural research that is informed by cross-cultural engagement and that shows potential to make a significant impact on architectural discourse. 

The Wheelwright Prize is open to emerging architects practicing anywhere in the world. The primary eligibility requirement is that applicants must have received a degree from a professionally accredited architecture program in the past 15 years. 

An affiliation to the GSD is not required. Applicants are asked to submit a portfolio and research proposal that includes travel outside the applicant’s home country. The winning architect is expected to dedicate roughly two years of concentrated research related to their proposal, and to return to Harvard GSD to present a lecture on their findings. 

Applicants will be judged on the quality of their design work, scholarly accomplishments, originality or persuasiveness of the research proposal, evidence of ability to fulfill the proposed project, and the potential for a successful project to make an important contribution to architectural discourse. 

In 2013, Harvard GSD recast the Arthur W. Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship, established in 1935 in memory of Wheelwright, Class of 1887, into an open, international competition; previously intended to encourage the study of architecture outside the United States at a time when international travel was difficult, the Fellowship had traditionally been available only to GSD alumni. 

Past fellows have included Paul Rudolph, Eliot Noyes, William Wurster, Christopher Tunnard, I. M. Pei, Farès el-Dahdah, Adele Santos, and Linda Pollak.

Winners of the prize since 2013 are: 

• 2019, Aleksandra Jaeschke (Austin, Texas) for her proposal to investigate greenhouse architecture and typologies around the world 

• 2018, Aude-Line Dulière (Brussels) for her proposal to examine construction methods and supply systems in the global film industry 

• 2017, Samuel Bravo (Santiago) for his proposal to examine traditional architectures and informal settlements, revisiting the subject of “architecture without architects” 

• 2016, Anna Puigjaner (Barcelona) for her proposal to study exemplars of collective housing in Brazil, Sweden, Russia, Korea, and elsewhere 

• 2015, Erik L’Heureux (Singapore) for his proposal to study architecture in five dense cities in the equatorial zone. 

• 2014, Jose M. Ahedo (Barcelona) for his research on the architecture and organization of structures related to animal farming. 

• 2013, Gia Wolff (Brooklyn) for her study of the spectacular, temporary, urban-scale float structures that transform Rio de Janeiro during carnival. 

The 2020 Wheelwright Prize winner will be named in Spring 2020. For information regarding Wheelwright Prize application and administration, please contact: info@wheelwrightprize.org