2018 WAN AWARDS Launched

Nick Myall
26 Jan 2018

Celebrating our 10 year anniversary, this years’ WAN AWARDS will be even bigger, better and further reaching...

“The WAN AWARDS are 10! 2018 marks our first decade running the world’s largest architecture awards programme. We will be celebrating our first decade with a smorgasbord of new initiatives including; new categories, an even bigger event in London this autumn, regional awards more reflecting our global audience and gearing up for the next decade, two new categories, Best Use Of Immersive Technology with supporting seminars and forums and a Rising Star Award

Fittingly WAN’s social media following has just topped the one million mark (F 774k, T208k and Inst 16.2k) , so all our winners will certainly get the exposure they deserve. 

I would like to personally thank our amazing judges for their untiring commitment working with us and getting the WAN AWARDS to this point. We couldn’t have got here without you!” said Michael Hammond, Co- Founder and Editor in Chief of World Architecture News.

The WAN AWARDS are judged by our extensive panel of top international experts. The judging panels themselves create a passionate and thought-provoking debate and for a project to make it through this rigorous process and come out on top is a true test of its creative quality and credibility. 

We also have an announcement to make for the 2018 programme. Marking the WAN AWARDS 10 Year anniversary, we are delighted to introduce Best in Region Awards for three world regions: EMEA, Asia Pacific and the Americas.

Our regional judges will assess entries against others in the same region in a parallel process to the category judging. All entries will be judged in the normal way against other projects in the same category. 

You only have to look at some of the thoughts of previous winners and shortlisted entrants to see how much being involved in the WAN AWARDS means to them and their practices: 

McBride Charles Ryan won the Colour in Architecture 2016. Debbie-Lyn Ryan, Owner of McBride Charles Ryan reflects on the positive effects of WAN AWARDS success. 

"Winning the WAN AWARD affirms McBride Charles Ryan's dedication and commitment to architecture. Receiving worldwide recognition from the jurors is truly exciting and has invigorated our team to continue to innovate. MCR particularly revelled in Zlatco’s praise regarding the accurate response of the design to its context as a school building combining the serious with the playful’. MCR thought this was an insightful comment that related directly to some of our core values. Karen’s response that we ‘are an architectural firm looking to bring colour to the beginning of the design and not the end’ further resonated with MCR’s holistic approach to architecture." 

JJW Architects won the 2016 Education Award. Here Lars B. Lindeberg, Partner and Head of Education and Culture at JJW explains why he found the whole process extremely positive.

"I am confident that winning the WAN Education Award will pave the way for other sustainable educational projects that showcase how a school can become an integrated part of the neighbourhood, and provide the best possible architectural environment for learning and social development. WAN AWARDS also puts Danish architecture and the Municipality of Copenhagen’s ambitions for their public schools on the international scene as an example worth striving for. Entering and winning the WAN Education Award ’16 has been a positive experience all the way."

FRANTZEN et al. won the Residential Award in 2016. Tom Frantzen Architect/Founder at FRANTZEN et al appreciated the increased attention that WAN AWARDS success gave his company. 

"After receiving a lot of national attention for our project PATCH22, winning the WAN Residential Award 2016 with it took the attention to an international level. The international acclaim really strenghtened our position in our home market, our partners love it!" 

Atelier Tekuto were shortlisted for the Concrete in Architecture Award 2016. Here Yasuhiro Yamashita, President and Representative Director reflects on what this achievement meant to him and his practice.

"Concrete was the main structure in architecture in the 20th century. This fact will remain the same in the 21st century, however our mission is to make it more environmentally friendly. At the same time, it will become more and more important to find materials to substitute scarce resources. Although I didn't win the award, the fact that I have been selected in the shortlist of WAN Concrete in Architecture Award 2016 will reinforce my thoughts." 

To view a full list of all WAN AWARDS categories and details on how to enter please click here.

Nick Myall

News editor

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team