WAN Transport Award 2017 Winner Announced

Tuesday 10 Oct 2017

The superb Lightrail Station, The Hague by ZJA Zwarts & Jansma Architects wins the WAN Transport Award 2017

We are delighted to congratulate ZJA Zwarts & Jansma Architects, winners of the WAN Transport Award 2017 with their design for the striking Lightrail Station The Hague.

ZJA Zwarts & Jansma Architect’s scheme was chosen by an expert jury panel, who debated the shortlisted six projects in great depth before selecting the winner. This year’s jury, chosen for their expertise within this sector were: Peter Chamley, Global Infrastructure Practice Chair at Arup, Catherine Hallett, Sponsorship Director for the Roads Improvement Programme at Highways England and Jon Tollit, Design Director and Principal at Gensler. The scheme was chosen by the judges for its elegance and beautiful desgin. 

Jury Quotes 

“From a paasenger’s perspective, you can see exactly where you need to go, it’s clear.” Peter Chamley

“It’s an amazingly lean design for a lightrail station. It’s a lovely project” Catherine Hallett

“This station has a real elegance to it.” Jon Tollit

“I love the transition from the platform, it drops out and becomes a canopy, that’s really lovely.” Jon Tollit

“The elegance of the functionality is enhanced by the architecture, rather than the two fighting each other.” Jon Tollit

“It’’s context, the simplicity and the scale is really nice, it has a city scale as well as a human scale.” Jon Tollit

We’d like to take the opportunity to thank not only the jury, but all who entered their projects into this year’s WAN Transport Award 2017.


Key Facts:


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team