WAN AWARDS go from strength to strength

Nick Myall
Monday 09 Nov 2015

The WAN AWARDS programme has evolved in size and diversity and is now accepted as the world’s largest awards programme in international architecture

The WAN AWARDS are a truly unique international architectural awards programme. A total of 22 categories are represented throughout the year and every two months areas as diverse as Adaptive Reuse, Transport, Performing Spaces and Waterfront Architecture are judged by our extensive panel of top international experts.

The judging panels themselves create a passionate and thought-provoking debate and for a project to make it through this rigorous process and come out on top is a true test of its creative quality and credibility. You only have to look at some of the thoughts of previous winners and shortlisted entrants to see how much it means to them and practices:

Alex Korter, Senior Associate at CO Architects after winning the Façade Award in 2014: "It was a great honour, especially given that this is an international award with extremely high quality submissions. We were also very pleased to be able to share our work and have the jury understand and appreciate the design intent and execution."

After being shortlisted for the Mixed-Use award in 2014 Katherine Faulkner AIA, Principal commented: "The WAN program both provided a highly respected jury while also offering The Model Home Gallery project exposure to an international audience. After being shortlisted last year we received several international publication requests for the project which noted they discovered it through the WAN AWARDS program. We appreciate the WAN program's rigor and communication efforts."

“The WAN AWARDS programme has evolved significantly in size and diversity over the last seven years and is now accepted as the world’s largest awards programme in international architecture, but its process, the robust framework behind the glamourous facade, has remained largely unchanged and is routinely praised by our judges for its integrity. That’s what we’re really proud of.” Michael Hammond Chairman of the WAN AWARDS panel.

Once the judging process is over and the winners have been selected several awards ceremonies take place throughout the year. These events bring together the awards entrants and the wider architectural community to consider the submitted projects and hear the winners announced. Recent events for House of the Year, Wood in Architecture and Concrete have taken place at packed venues with shortlisted and winning entrants flying in from countries across the globe.

Entrants attended from Iceland and India as well as Italy, Slovenia and Canada - a true reflection of the high regard that the world’s largest international architectural awards programme are held in.

To view a full list of all WAN AWARDS categories and for details on how to enter please click here.

Nick Myall
News Editor

Key Facts:

United Kingdom

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team