Announcing the 21st winner

Faye Chalmers
Tuesday 28 Apr 2015

Last ever 21 for 21 award granted to Haugen/Zohar Arkitekter from Oslo, Norway

Following our announcement last week of the 12 shortlisted projects for the 2015 21 for 21 award, we are delighted to say that one of these entries stood out amongst the others, and was awarded the accolade of the 21st Winner of the award. Our panel consisted of Andrew Best, Partner at Buro Happold, David Bickle, Partner at HawkinsBrown, Angela Dapper, Senior Associate at Denton Corker Marshall, Angus Morrogh-Ryan, Co-Director of De Matos Ryan & Peter Murray, Chairman of New London Architecture (NLA).

So, without further ado, we are thrilled to announce the 21st winner in the last ever 21 for 21 award as Haugen/Zohar Arkiteketer, based in Oslo, Norway. Congratulations! You can view their initial submission HERE.

Haugen/Zohar Arkitekter were established in 2006 by architect and artist Marit Justine Haugen and architect Dan Zohar. They put forward a wonderfully varied selection of work, summing up an integral part of their ethos: “architecture by its nature is earthbound. Drawn by and for the people.”

The panel felt that their entry shone and one of the most noteworthy comments to come out of the jury session was from Angus, when he stated, “Research and scales are going somewhere in every part of their presentation. They are confidently moving from one step to the next. You can see the sensitivity that they have in the details. This fits the definition of emerging architects.” The panel were in agreement, noting that they deserved to be the final winner of this longstanding award from WAN.

Joining Haugen/Zohar Arkitekter in the line of our 21 for 21 winners are the following firms:


sP+a (Sameep Padora & Associates), Mumbai, India

Longhi Architects, LIMA, Peru 

5468796 Architecture, Winnipeg, Canada 

FGMF arquitetos, São Paulo, Brazil 


Rural Urban Framework (RUF), Hong Kong, Hong Kong 

Vo Trong Nghia Co. Ltd, Hochiminh city, Vietnam 

HHF architects, Basel, Switzerland 

Rintala Eggertsson Architects, Oslo, Norway 

MAD Architects, Beijing, China 

Helen & Hard, Stavanger, Norway 

Cloud 9, Barcelona, Spain 

CREUSeCARRASCO arquitectos, Malpica, Spain 

Kéré Architecture, Berlin, Germany 

Reiulf Ramstad Architects (RRA), Oslo, Norway 

Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, Madrid, Spain 

Architects Atelier Ryo Abe, Tokyo, Japan 

JDS Architects, Copenhagen, Denmark 

Patterson Associates, Auckland, New Zealand 


Huge congratulations to all of the 21 winners. And a big thank you to all of our distinguished panellists that have assessed each round of entries over the years. 

Faye Chalmers

WAN Awards Manager

Key Facts:

United Kingdom

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team