The fantastic five finalists

Kerry Boettcher
Thursday 26 Feb 2015

Five finalists announced for the 2015 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the five finalists who will compete for the 2015 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award.

The five finalists have been named as:

LedererRagnarsdóttirOei for the Ravensburg Art Museum, Ravensburg, Germany

BIG – BjarkeIngels Group for the Danish Maritime Museum, Helgingør, Denmark

ArcheaAssociati for the Antinori Winery, Florence, Italy

Barozzi/Viega for the Philharmonic Hall Szczecin, Poland

O’Donnell + Tuomey for the Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School of Economics, London, UK

The five top works were whittled down from a shortlist of 40, chosen from a total of 420 entrants. 

Over the next few weeks, the judges will visit the five finalist works and get feedback from the people using them in order to build a picture of the benefits and influence that each work has had. 

On 7 May each finalist will present their project at a public event to be held in Barcelona. On 8 May the judges will announce the winner at a special event at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. The prize exhibition and a celebration to acknowledge the work of all the architects and people who have been involved with the Prize process will also take place on that day.

Key Facts:


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team