40 of the best contenders

Kerry Boettcher
Monday 16 Feb 2015

Shortlist announced for the 2015 EU prize for contemporary architecture

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the 40 shortlisted works for the 2015 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award, one of the most prestigious awards in international architecture.

In total, 420 works were entered for the award and a panel of judges drew up the final shortlist of 40, including a mix of cultural, education, mixed use, religious, urban, commercial, hotels and residential projects.

Five finalists, who will be announced at the end of February, will present their projects to the judges on 7 May at an open event in Barcelona. The judges will decide on the overall winner of the prize, as well as the Emerging Architect Prize at a celebration which will take place at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona on 8 May.

The exhibition with the original 420 nominees can be visited at the Barcelona School of Architecture until 19 March.

A touring exhibition, discussions and lectures will also be presented in different European and international cities between 2015 and 2016.

To find out more: www.miesarch.com ec.europa.eu/culture

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team
  • Architectural CAD Technician

    Architectural CAD Technician Reference: KOIPS4E65YU Location: Ipswich Salary: Competitive based on experience A successful Architectural practice, ...
    • Penguin Recruitment Architecture
    • Ipswich, Suffolk
  • Planning Strategy and Policy Manager

    This post is responsible for leading the council’s planning strategy and policy team to maintain an up-to-date planning policy framework.
    • London Borough of Lambeth
    • Lambeth, London (Greater)
  • Planner / Senior Planner

    We have an exciting opportunity with our established planning team, working on a diverse range of projects.
    • Pro Vision
    • Ampfield, Hampshire
  • Enforcement Officer - North East - outside IR35

    A Local Authority in the North East are looking for an Enforcement Officer to assist them with a backlog of cases for an initial contract of 6 months,
    • Oyster Partnership
    • North East England
  • Head of Planning

    Do you have the vision to make Suffolk an even better place to live and work, and the skills to make it happen?
    • Suffolk County Council
    • Suffolk