Winners of Moscow masterplan announced

06 Sep 2012

EXCLUSIVE: Capital Cities Planning Group and Antoine Grumbach/Jean-Michel Wilmotte win Moscow Agglomeration Competition

An Anglo-American team has won through in the prestigious competition to plan the future of the City of Moscow. Earlier this year the Russian Federal Government announced that it was doubling the territory of Moscow to enable it to grow into a competitive 21st century world capital.

In February 2012, Sergey Sobyanin, the Mayor of Moscow announced an international competition and selected 10 teams from around the world to prepare plans for the Moscow Region, for the City overall and for the planning and design of a new federal capital for the ministries of the federal government.

The Government of Moscow set up a 6 month, 3-stage process with all the teams working and reporting to the Moscow Government on a monthly basis. The finished work of all the teams is now exhibited at a public exhibition in Gorky Park.

At the conclusion of the process, the international jury headed by Deputy Mayor Marat Khusnullin has awarded only two prizes: for the design and planning of the new federal district to the Capital Cities Planning Group led by Urban Design Associates of the USA and for the overall planning of Moscow to Antoine Grumbach/Jean-Michel Wilmotte of Paris

The winning design for the capital district configured a new mixed-use city configured around a series of lakes designed by the UK LAndscpe Design Practice Gillespies.

Brian Evans, partner in charge of Gillespies Glasgow Office who led the British side of the team and said: “We are all knocked out by this recognition for our work on the world stage. It seems that our design to use the natural topography of the site to create a series of lakes as the setting for the new federal district was one of the key factors in the jury’s mind when they appraised the different proposals.”

The Capital Cities Planning Group are:

Urban Design Associates, Pittsburgh USA
Beasley & Associates, Vancouver Canada
Gillespies, Glasgow, UK
John Thompson & partners, London UK
Nelson Nygaard, San Francisco, USA
Buro Happold, Glasgow UK
Group Ark, Moscow, Russia
Prof Stuart Gulliver, University of Glasgow, UK

Rod Manson, Director at Buro Happold commented: “Buro Happold is delighted that our sustainable infrastructure strategy and zero carbon proposals for the New Moscow City have been so highly appreciated by the committee and we very much look forward to working with them in the future to turn our vision into reality as we move forwards.”

John Thompson, Chairman John Thompson and Partners furthered: “We are delighted our team has won the competition for the design of the new Federal District, bringing together international best practice to create a model for the further expansion of Moscow through the creation of a properly serviced, transit orientated urban hierarchy set within a forest landscape”.

The jury was headed by Deputy Mayor of Moscow Marat Khusnullin. The panel also includes the president of the Union of Architects of Russia Andrey Bokov, Dean of the Graduate School of Urban University 'Higher School of Economics' Alexander Vysokovsky, Spanish urbanist Alfonso Vegard, curator of the 'Greater Paris' Maurice Leroy, Advisor to the Minister of Transportation and Vuk Vuchik member of the Berlin Chamber of Architects Hildebrand Mahlyaydt.

In late February 2012, the expert group selected 10 teams for the competition:

Ostozhenka (Russia)
Architectural design workshop Prof. AA Chernikhov (Russia)
Moscow Architectural Institute (State Academy) (Russia)
TSNIIP urban (Russia)
MARCHI (Russia)
Antoine Grumbach et Associes/Jean-Michel Wilmotte et Associes (France)
LAUC (France)
OMA - Office for Metropolitan Architecture (Netherlands)
Ricardo Bofill (Spain)
Studio ASS SECCHI - VIGANO (Italy)
Capital Cities Planning Group - Urban design associates (US/UK).

Later, the number of participants was reduced to 9 - MARCHI team was eliminated from the competition.

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team