Common Ground winners announced

Wednesday 29 Aug 2012

Golden Lions awarded to Japan and Urban Think Tank with Justin McGuirk

The winners of the la Biennale di Venezia 13th International Architecture Exhibition: ‘Common Ground’ have been announced today. Directed by David Chipperfield, the exhibition will be open to the public from 29th August to 25th November 2012.

“The emphasis of the 2012 Biennale is on what we have in common. Above all, the ambition of Common Ground is to reassert the existence of an architectural culture, made up not just of singular talents but a rich continuity of diverse ideas united in a common history, common ambitions, common predicaments and ideals. In architecture everything begins with the ground.” commented Chipperfield on his latest venture.

The exhibition aims to provoke visitors, as well as contributing architects, to admit the influences and inspirations which inform their work and life. Focus is on city, and building, but what links these is the theory of shared ideas and visions which are confirmed by architecture itself- creative unity through collective difference.

The Jury, comprised of Wiel Arets (President, Netherlands), Kristin Feireiss (Germany), Robert A.M. Stern (USA), Benedetta Tagliabue (Italy) and Alan Yentob (Great Britain). The recipients go as follows:

Golden Lion for Best National Participation

Architecture possible here? Home-for-All
Japan  (Naoya Hatakeyama; Kumiko Inui; Sou Fujimoto; Akihisa Hirata (Pavilion at Giardini)
Commissioner: Toyo Ito. Deputy Commissioners: Atsuko Sato, Tae Mori

Golden Lion for the Best Project of the Common Ground Exhibition

Torre David / Gran Horizonte, 2012
Urban-Think Tank (Alfredo Brillembourg, Hubert Klumpner) and Justin McGuirk
(exhibit at Corderie, Arsenale)

Silver Lion for a promising practice of the International Exhibition

Common Ground 
Grafton Architects (Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara)
(Irland, exhibit at Central Pavilion, Giardini)

The Jury has also decided to assign four Special Mentions:

Poland Making the walls quake as if they were dilating with the secret knowledge of great powers
Katarzyna Krakowiak
(Pavilion at Giardini)
Commissioner: Hanna Wróblewska. Curator: Micha? Libera

United States of America Spontaneous Interventions: Design Actions for the Common Good
596 Acres; AFHny Studio; Mouna Andraos; Ants of the Prairie; Architecture for Humanity Chicago; Austin Urban Solutions & Rosner Studio; Manuel Ávila; Baltimore Development Cooperative; Barkow Leibinger Architects & Kyle Talbott; David Benjamin and Natalie Jeremijenko; BK Farmyards; BroLab; Brooklyn Night Bazaar; Eduardo Cachucho; Center for Urban Pedagogy; Candy Chang; and Civic Center; Cheng+Snyder; Chicago Loop Alliance; City Repair; City Fabric; Cleveland Urban Design Collaborative at Kent State University; CMG Landscape Architecture; Come Out and Play; COMMONstudio; Graham Coreil-Allen; Crookedworks; Nicholas de Monchaux; Department of Urban Betterment; Depave; Design 99; Design That Moves You; Do Tank; DSGN AGNC, ENS_Projects; envelope A+D; Jason Eppink; Jason Eppink and Posterchild; Free Agents Imbert and Meijerink; Free Art and Technology Laboratory (F.A.T: Lab); Freecell; French 2Design; Futurefarmers; Evan Gant and Alex Tee; Ghana ThinkTank; GOOD; Guerrilla Grafters; HabitatMap; Fritz Haeg; Hellmuth; Obata + Kassabaum; Hester Street Collaborative; HOK; Howling Mob Society; ICE-POPS; Institute for Urban Design; Interboro Partners; International Design Clinic; Jackson Heights Green Alliance; Kingshighway Vigilante Transitions; LA Department of DIY; LA Green Grounds; Lang Architecture; Make It Right Foundation; Street Plans Collaborative; M12; Macro Sea, MAS Studio, MIT Media Lab; Molly Dilworth Studio; Ken Mori & Jenny Liang; Eve Mosher; MyBlockNYC; Neighborland; No Longer Empty; Normal Projects; Object Orange; Occupy Wall Street 8various, including inflatable General Assembly and OWS Screenprinters’ Guild; OpenPlans; Philadelphia Horticultural Society; PlanningCorps; Popularise; Public Architecture; Public Laboratory for Open Technology and Science; Public Media Institute; Alexandra Pulver; Rebar; Rebuild Foundation; Red Swing Project; Resource Center; Rockwell Group; James Rojas; SanFranStudios; Sensemakers; Shared Spaces Landscape Architecture and ‘Hood Builders; SLO Architecture; Stamen; Streetfilms; Syracuse University School of Architecture; Team Better Block; Matt Tomasulo/CityFabric; TreeKIT; TheUni Project with Howeler + Yoon Architecture; Urban Operations; Urbano Activo; UrbanUXd; Rob Walker & Ellen Susan; Dave Winslow and Loring Sagan; Ed Woodham; WORKac; youarethecity; Z-A Studio
(Pavilion at Giardini)
Commissioner/Curator: Cathy Lang Ho. Curators: Ned Cramer, David van der Leer.
Deputy Curators: Paola Antonelli, Anne Guiney, Zoe Ryan, Michael Sorkin

Russia i-city

AREP; SPEECH Tchoban/Kuznetsov; David Chipperfield Architects; Valode& Pistre; Mohsen Mostafavi; OMA; SANAA; Herzog& de Meuron; Stefano Boeri architetti; Project MEGANOM; MDP/Michel Desvigne paysagiste; BERNASKONI architecture bureau
(Pavilion at Giardini)
Commissioner: Grigory Revzin. Curator: Sergei Tchoban. Deputy Curators: Sergey Kuznetsov, Valeria Kashirina

Cino Zucchi (Milan, Italy, exhibit at Corderie, Arsenale)

Copycat. Empatia e invidia come generatori di forma, 2012

The Awards Ceremony of the 13th International Architecture Exhibition will take place today, Wednesday 29 August 2012 in the Giardini at noon. The Board of la Biennale di Venezia, chaired by Paolo Baratta, is also awarding Golden Lions for Lifetime Achievement under director David Chipperfield’s proposal to: Álvaro Siza Vieira


Key Facts:

Urban design

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team