Top names for ESS

Tuesday 19 Jun 2012

5 teams compete for European Spallation Source Centre in southern Sweden

It has just been announced that five international consortia of architects and landscape designers will compete to design the buildings and grounds at the future European Spallation Source (ESS) research centre.

To be built in southern Sweden, the ESS will be one the world’s largest research companies when operational in 2019, and an important hub in European research infrastructure. The design of the buildings is viewed as important to the perception of the centre and its scientific and technical functions as well as for the integration into the surrounding landscape and the future Science Village. As such the aim is to select the best architectural ideas for the future facility.

The five teams selected to submit design proposal for the project are Bethem Crouwel, West8, Arup, Mandaworks; Bjarke Ingels Group, HOK International Limited, Topotek1/man made land; Foster + Partners, Peter Walker and Partners, Research Facilities Design, Ramboll Group, Berg/CF Moller Architects; Henning Larsen Architects A/S, COBE ApS, SLA A/S, NNE Pharmaplan A/S; and Tengbom, Mecanoo Architecten, Buro Happold. Completed proposals are due 28 September with the winner selected at the end of October.

Sharon McHugh

Key Facts:


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team