Emerging architects take to the waterfront

Wednesday 29 Feb 2012

ENYA Harlem Edge Competition Winners announced

Winners in a competition to remake a former marine transfer station on the Harlem River waterfront were announced last week. Sponsored by the Emerging New York Architects (ENYA) Committee of AIANY, the biennial competition, now in its fifth year, calls on the talents of young architects to propose solutions to pressing problems, in this case the re-envisioning of a former Department of Sanitation marine station, a 23,500 sq ft site on the Harlem River that has lain vacant since 1999. Part of a larger effort by the City of New York to reclaim its waterfront for non-industrial use, the competition asked designers to explore how urban agriculture can be introduced to the community, improve access to the waterfront, reflect creative programming that stimulates economic activity and create jobs as well as sustainability.

Selected from a field of 98 entries from 16 countries, this year’s winners are Ting Chin and Yan Wang of Linearscape Architecture, New York, N.Y which took first prize for its scheme Sym’bio’pia; Eliz Higgins, Cyrus Patell, Chris Starkey and Andrea Vittadini of Brooklyn, N.Y. which placed second for its scheme, The Hudson Exchange; and Ryan Doyle, Guido Elgueta and Tyler Craine, also of Brooklyn, N.Y., which took third prize for a scheme entitled Harlem Harvest. A Student Prize also was awarded to Daniel Mowery, an architecture student at the University of Virginia.

In addition to receiving a cash prize, the winning entries will be exhibited at the Center for Architecture, 536 LaGuardia Place, New York, NY this July and be published in a competition catalog. In coordination with the exhibition, ENYA will be hosting a symposium to discuss design issues related to the winning entries and possibilities for the future development of the site and its neighboring community. The Harlem Edge is presented as part of FutureNow, the 2012 AIA New York Chapter Presidential Theme.

The competition was judged by an esteemed jury panel that included Emily Abruzzo, AIA, LEED AP, Partner, Abruzzo Bodziak Architects LLC, and Winner of 2012 New Practices New York; Meta Brunzema, Principal, Meta Brunzema Architect PC; Dr. Dickson D. Despommier, Emeritus Professor of Public Health, Environmental Health Sciences at Columbia University; Louise Harpman, Clinical Associate Professor | Architecture, Urban Design, Sustainability, NYU Gallatin School of Individualized Study; Michael Marrella, Director of Waterfront and Open Space Planning, New York City Department of City Planning; Jesse Reiser, Principal, Reiser + Umemoto RUR Architecture PC; and Keith VanDerSys, Principal, PEG office of landscape + architecture, and Winner of the 2010 ENYA Prize.

Sharon McHugh
US Correspondent

Key Facts:

United States

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team