It could be you!

Monday 20 Feb 2012

The search for the 21 architects for the 21st century continues

With just under two weeks left to enter the WAN AWARDS 21 for 21 2012, the entrants are coming in thick and fast: a great mix of young architects and firms demonstrating a diverse range of architectural talent from across the globe.

The mission of the WAN AWARDS 21 for 21 is to uncover the newest generation of international architects. This particular category aims to highlight 21 architects who could be the leading lights of architecture in the 21st century. We are looking for outstanding, forward-thinking people and organisations who have the demonstrable potential to be the next 'big thing' in the architectural world.

After launching the award in 2011, the response was huge. With over 110 entrants the jury saw firms from all corners from the world, ranging from Norway all the way to Japan. The panel chose five winners as part of the first step in finding the 21 architects. JDS Architects, one of the winners in 2011 said: ‘As a fairly new practice, the coverage our projects receive from the WAN AWARDS gives us credibility as a firm, which in turn convinces clients that we have the level of ambition and innovation required'

This year the search continues to complete the 21 emerging practices set to lead the way for future of architecture and so far we have had some fantastic entries, including British based firm Studio Weave, Kéré architecture in Germany, Sporaarchitects in Hungary and Graciastudio in the USA. Each firm demonstrated their commitment to the progression of architecture.

In addition, every entry to the WAN AWARDS this year will automatically be entered for the ECOWAN AWARD. If your work demonstrates strong sustainability credentials, it will be included in the long list for the ECOWAN AWARD held at the end of the year.

We are also delighted to announce our fantastic jury panel this year which includes: Patrik Schumacher, Partner at Zaha Hadid Architects; Craig Dykers, co-founder of Snøhetta; Julien De Smedt, Founder and Director of JDS Architects; Peter Murray, Founder and Chairman of New London Architecture; Reiulf Ramstad, Founder and Principal Owner in Reiulf Ramstad Arkitekter and Andrew Best, Director at Buro Happold.

If you feel you have what it takes to be one of the 21 architects you can find more information on entry submissions here. You can enter as a firm or as an individual. The closing date for entries is 29 February, 2012. To find out more contact Elena Collins on elena.collins@wantoday.com.

Elena Collins

Key Facts:


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team