AIA names 2011 Housing Award winners

24 Mar 2011

Olson Kundig Architects and Bohlin Cywinski Jackson properties among AIA's top residential projects

The American Institute of Architects has selected 18 projects to receive its prestigious 2011 Housing Award. Now in its 11th year, AIA’s Housing Award Program was established to honour the best in housing design and promote the importance of good housing as a necessity of life, a sanctuary for the human spirit and a valuable national resource.

This year's winners are as follows:

-The Schermerhorn, New York - Ennead Architects LLP
-Northeastern University Building F, Boston - William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc.
-Haven for Hope, San Antonio - Overland Partners Architects
-Tassafaronga Village, Oakland - David Baker + Partners, Architects
-Hancock Mixed Use Housing, West Hollywood - Koning Eizenberg Architecture, Inc.
-Armstrong Place Senior and Family Housing, San Francisco - David Baker + Partners, Architects
-Art Stable, Seattle- Olson Kundig Architects
-50 Saint Peter Street/Historic Salem Jail, Salem - Finegold Alexander + Associates
-930 Poydras Residential Tower, New Orleans - Eskew+Dumez+Ripple
-100K Houses, Philadelphia - Interface Studio Architects LLC
-1111 E. Pike, Seattle - Olson Kundig Architects
-Town House, Washington, DC - Robert M. Gurney, FAIA, Architect
-R-House, NY - Della Valle Bernheimer and Architecture Research Office
-Combs Point Residence, NY - Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
-North Beach Residence, Eastsound - Heliotrope Architects
-OS House, Racine - Johnsen Schmaling Architects
-Addition to an historic cape on a coastal farm, Little Compton - Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
-Blair Barn House, Blair - Alchemy

Sharon McHugh
US Correspondent

Key Facts


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team