WAN AWARDS to expand in 2011

Tuesday 04 Jan 2011

Three new categories to be added for New Year

Already the world's largest architectural awards with some 685 entries in 2009 and estimates for 2010 at over 800, WAN will be complementing the existing sector wards with a second strand of specialist awards.

WAN Editor in Chief and Chairman of the WAN Jury, Michael Hammond explains, "The sector awards, now in their third year, have been a huge success and we will be both consolidating these as the backbone of a massive website upgrade being rolled out in 2011 and supplementing them in key areas where obvious demand exists." 

The new categories will be:

21 for 21. A mission to Identify 21 architects who show potential to become the industry design leaders in the 21st Century.

Hotel of the Year. An acknowledgment and celebration of this strong typology in these difficult financial times.

Residential Sector un-built category. The second most popular sector, residential will be the last to include an un-built category.

We are delighted to announce that Jenny Nixon and Amy Knight have joined Tessa Schubert and James Forryan reinforcing the WAN AWARDS team for what promises to be an exciting New Year.

Key Facts:


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team