New images of Crossrail stations

Thursday 18 Nov 2010

Rail Minister and Mayor of London present unseen images of new city-wide rail scheme

The Mayor of London Boris Johnson and Rail Minister Theresa Villiers today presented unseen images of a city-wide project to revamp eight major stations throughout London. The stations in question comprise: Bond Street, Canary Wharf, Farringdon, Liverpool Street, Paddington, Tottenham Court Road, Whitechapel and Custom House (the only new Crossrail station with platforms constructed above ground).

It is thought the new scheme will up London’s rail capacity by ten per cent, reducing journey times and allowing for additional services to run between Paddington and Whitechapel during peak hours. Care has been taken to ensure that each station is developed with sensitivity to the character and heritage of the surrounding area, yet retain a sense of consistency with the remaining eight major stations.

Rail Minister Theresa Villiers commented: "These designs provide a glimpse of the impressive new buildings that will welcome passengers to the heart of our capital. Crossrail will enable passengers to arrive at their destinations in less time and more comfort. It will create thousands of jobs and potentially generate up to £50bn for the UK's GDP. We are working hard to make sure that the new railway offers the best possible value for money.

Architects and engineers on the projects are as follows:

Bond Street - WSP; John McAslan + Partners
Canary Wharf – Canary Wharf Group; Arup; Foster + Partners; Adamsons Associates; Gillespies
Custom House – Arup; Atkins; Allies & Morrison
Farringdon – Scott Wilson; Aedas; Burns & Nice
Liverpool Street – Mott MacDonald, Wilkinson Eyre; Urban Initiatives
Paddington – Scott Wilson, Weston Williamson; Gillespies
Tottenham Court Road – Arup; Atkins; Hawkins Brown
Whitechapel– Hyder; BDP
Line-wide identity / common architectural components – Grimshaw; Atkins; GIA Equation


Key Facts:


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team