Renowned architects rewarded

Monday 22 Mar 2010

Rafael Manzano Martos and Vincent J. Scully awarded prestigious awards in Chicago

Rafael Manzano Martos, a Spanish architect known for his distinctive use of the Mudéjar style, will receive the 2010 Richard H. Driehaus Prize for Classical Architecture at a ceremony on 27th March in Chicago. The $200,000 Driehaus Prize, presented annually to a distinguished classical architect, represents the largest recognition of classicism in the contemporary built environment. In conjunction with the Driehaus Prize, legendary Yale professor and preservationist Vincent J. Scully will receive the $50,000 Henry Hope Reed Award.

Manzano's work spans cultures. Mudéjar emerged as a style blending Muslim and Christian influences in the 12th century on the Iberian Peninsula. Manzano, who has design commercial and residential projects throughout Spain and the Middle East, is most well-known for his designs for state homes Chueca Goitia in Seville and Curro Romero in Marbella. Other recent projects include a hotel in Mosul, Iraq, and a hotel resort and shopping district in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. A manor house for Faisal Hassan Jawal in Bahrain is under construction. Born in Cádiz, Spain, on 6th November 1936, Manzano earned his PhD from the Architecture School of Madrid in 1963. His career has included building restoration, urban planning, and teaching, in addition to his architectural work. Today Manzano teaches at the Seville Superior Technical School of Architecture.

Vincent J. Scully, Henry Hope Reed Award laureate, enrolled at Yale at 16, beginning an association that has endured for more than 70 years. Scully, the Sterling Professor Emeritus of the History of Art, has served as a champion of architectural preservation. Since the ‘urban renewal’ efforts of the 1960s and 70s, he has condemned sprawl and advocated livable and sustainable urban design. The author of more than 20 books, Scully is a trustee emeritus of the National Trust for Historic Preservation and a recipient of the National Medal of Arts, the highest honor the U.S. bestows on artists and patrons.

Established in 2003 through the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture, the Richard H. Driehaus Prize honours the best practitioners of traditional, classical and sustainable architecture and urbanism in the modern world. The Henry Hope Reed Award recognises achievement in the promotion and preservation of those ideals among people who work outside the architecture field. Together, with the $200,000 Driehaus Prize, the $50,000 Reed Award represents the most significant recognition for classicism in the contemporary built environment. Recipients were selected by a jury comprising Richard H. Driehaus, founder and chairman of Driehaus Capital Management; Michael Lykoudis, Francis and Kathleen Rooney Dean of the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture; Robert Davis, developer and founder of Seaside, Florida; Paul Goldberger, architecture critic for The New Yorker; David M. Schwarz, principal of David M. Schwarz Architects; Adele Chatfield-Taylor, president of the American Academy in Rome; and Léon Krier, inaugural Driehaus Prize laureate.

Key Facts:

United States

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team