Libeskind awarded for Jewish contribution

Tuesday 09 Mar 2010

Daniel Libeskind becomes first architect recipient of Buber-Rosenzweig Medal

Polish-American architect Daniel Libeskind has been chosen as the 2010 recipient of the Buber-Rosenzweig Medal, making him the first ever architect to win the prize. The medal, which celebrates contributions to Christian-Jewish understanding, was awarded on Sunday, March 7, 2010 in Augsburg, Germany.

The Buber-Rosenzweig Medal is an annual prize awarded uninterruptedly since 1968 by the DKR (German Coordinating Council of Societies for Christian-Jewish Cooperation) to individuals, initiatives, or institutions, which have actively contributed to Christian-Jewish understanding. Forty-four different societies belong to the DKR. The name of the prize honours the memory of the Austrian-Jewish philosopher, translator, and educator Martin Buber (1878-1965) and German-Jewish theologian Franz Rosenzweig (1886-1929).

Libeskind was born in post-war Poland and after moving to the United States of America, was awarded citizenship in 1965. In 1989, he won the competition for the Jewish Museum Berlin, which opened to the public in September 2001 followed by the Glass Courtyard extension to the museum which completed in the Autumn of 2007. In 2001 he was also awarded the Hiroshima Art Prize - an award given to an artist whose work promotes international understanding and peace, another first for an architect.

Daniel Libeskind is giving an exclusive talk as part of WAN's 'Icons of Architecture' lecture series in association with Permasteelisa. It will take place at the Royal Geographical Society in London on April 29. Click here if you're interested in attending.

Key Facts:


Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team