Fifth Emirates Glass LEAF Awards winners announced

Laura Salmi
Friday 24 Oct 2008

Major new buildings from 26 countries competed for the recognition

Emirates Glass LEAF Awards, one of the highest accolades in the architectural calendar, recognizes excellence in the international architectural, design and build fields. Last night the winners of the 10 categories were announced at a strictly black-tie dinner in London.

Albert Williamson Taylor, Chairman of the panel of judges for the Emirates Glass LEAF Awards and co-founder and director of Adams Kara Taylor said: “The judges have again been very impressed with the exceptionally high standard of entries for this year’s awards, providing us with very difficult selection decisions. The truly international representation and the huge variety of projects that we have seen have been exciting and fascinating. They include both small and large projects from both well known and up and coming architects and designers of the future. “

The prestigious Grand Prix was awarded to leading Scandinavian practice Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects, for its Performers House project: a modern version of a Danish folk high school, situated in the heart of Silkeborg, Denmark on a 19th-century paper mill.

The 10 winners representing the very best in architectural and design achievement from all over the world were:

Mixed Use Building of the Year
Performers House, Silkeborg, Denmark
architects: Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects

Residential Building of the Year - Multiple Level Building
eScape, Sittingbourne, Kent UK
architects: PCKO Architects

Residential Building of the Year - Single Storey Building
Black House, Valle de Bravo, Mexico
architects: bgp arquitectura

Commercial Building of the Year - Private Building
28 Dorset Square, London NW1, UK
architects: John McAslan & Partners

Commercial Building of the Year - Public Building
Winner: Suntory Museum of Art, Tokyo, Japan architects: Kengo Kuma & Associates

International Interior Design
Winner: GSC Offices, New York, USA
architects: Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Young Architect
Winner: Arreltes Day Care Center, Els Alamus, Lleida, Spain
architects: Xavier Vilata Studio

Best Sustainable Development
Winner: Cley Marshes Visitor Centre, Norfolk, UK
architects: LSI Architects LLP

New Innovation of the Year
Winner: Longshan Church, Beijing
architects: WSP Architectural Design Consulting Co. Ltd

Best Structural Design of the Year
Winner: Beijing International Airport Terminal 3
architects: Foster + Partners

Laura Salmi

Key Facts:

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team