Stirling win for David Chipperfield

Thursday 04 Oct 2007

Museum of Modern Literature in Germany beats strong competition

London based David Chipperfield was always a front runner with two entries. His win was announced on Saturday night at the recently refurbished Roundhouse, Chalk Farm Road, London.
The RIBA Stirling Prize is given for the RIBA Building of the Year. It is run in association with The Architects' Journal and is presented to the architects of the building which has been the most significant for the evolution of architecture in the past year.
The winning architect receives a cash prize of £20,000. The prize is named after the great British architect Sir James Stirling (1926-1992).
The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist in 2007 includes a redeveloped railway station, a musuem, two pavilions, a theatre and a performaing arts centre, all visited by the RIBA Stirling Prize Jury in September.
Clockwise from top left:
1. America's Cup pavilion in Valencia by David Chipperfield
2. Dresden Station Redevelopment by Foster and Partners
3. Casa de Musica, Portugal by OMA
4. Museum of Modern Literature in Germany by David Chipperfield
5. The Young Vic, London by Haworth Tomkins
6. The Savill Building in Windsor by Glenn Howells Architects

Key Facts:

United Kingdom

Want to submit your project to World Architecture News?

Contact The Team