WAN Jobs
News Review
WAN Urban Challenge
WAN Awards
Previous Next

WAN Education Award 2009

Monday 23 Mar 2009

Education Award jury announced

WAN Education Award 2009 by WAN Editorial
Your comments on this project

No. of Comments: 0

Add comments | More comments

Be the first to comment

WAN go straight to the heart of education with a headteacher and pupil among jury 

As WAN prepare to go back to school with the Education Awards, as ever, we have adopted an unconventional approach to our design jury employing those involved with educational facilities at the front line.

Set to be the most commanding of jurors is Dr Anthony Seldon, an active headmaster at one of the UK's most famous independent schools, Wellington College. A teacher would be of no use without his pupils and so we will also draw upon the first-hand experience and contemporary knowledge of Chestnut Grove pupil, Courtney Alexander, 16. Other jury members are experts in their field of education design and architecture. Together they create a balanced, knowledgeable and capable entourage to decide upon the winner of the WAN Education Award 2009.

Office MapMichael Hammond
Editorial Director, World Architecture News

Michael Hammond has held the post of Editorial Director at WAN since 2005 and is author of Performing Architecture by Merrell published in 2006. He has also contributed to many other architectural titles including the Architects’ Journal, Blueprint and BA’s lifestyle magazine Highlife.

Office MapDr Anthony Seldon
Master, Wellington College

Dr Anthony Seldon is a political historian and commentator on British political leadership as well as on education and contemporary Britain. He is also Master (headmaster) of Wellington College, one of the country's most famous and historic independent schools and was given a Chair at The College of Teachers in 2007 as Professor of Education.

Office Map Mairi Johnson
Design Director, Partnership for Schools

Partnerships for Schools (PfS) was established to deliver Building Schools for the Future (BSF), the capital investment programme that will help transform every single secondary school in England. In 2006, PfS also took on responsibility for delivering the Academies programme, which will see 400 Academies built across the country.

Office Map Julian Weyer
Partner, CF Møller Architects

Julian Weyer is one of the Partners of world-renowned architects practise CF Møller, specialists in education design. Weyer received his Architect MAA from The Aarhus School of Architecture in 1994 and has been employed at CF Møller since 1995 becoming Partner in 2007.

Office Map Alan Ford
Author, Designing the Sustainable School

A regular contributor to architectural journalism, Ford is author of Designing the Sustainable School and co-author of A Sense of Entry: Designing the Welcoming School. In 2008, Ford was a member of the national AIA Soloso (now Architect’s Knowledge Resource) Editorial Content Review Board and subject matter expert for the website’s design content.

Office Map Courtney Alexander
Pupil, Chestnut Grove School

Courtney is a student at Chestnut Grove School in South London, a school on the BSF program due for major regeneration and new build work later this year. She is also a member of the school's BSF committee - an initiative set up by the school enabling students to take an active part in the design process.

The Education Award is one of six categories in the WAN Awards programme for 2009. We are now calling for Healthcare entries - to enter the Healthcare Award click here

WAN Editorial

More projects by this architect

Tech Spot #112 Climate Tile

Genoa bridge collapse

Bridge collapse

Festival collapse

Lost 20th century buildings illustrations

More Projects

Reinventing Cities

Click here to view the NEWS IN PICTURES tablet site