WAN Awards 2018

MONDAY 21 MAY 2018

WAN Jobs
News Review
WAN Urban Challenge
WAN Awards
Previous Next

2008 Pritzker Architecture Prize, Washington DC, United States

Monday 31 Mar 2008

A win for Nouvel

2008 Pritzker Architecture Prize by Ateliers Jean Nouvel in Washington DC, United States
2008 Pritzker Architecture Prize by Ateliers Jean Nouvel in Washington DC, United States 2008 Pritzker Architecture Prize by Ateliers Jean Nouvel in Washington DC, United States 2008 Pritzker Architecture Prize by Ateliers Jean Nouvel in Washington DC, United States
Your comments on this project

No. of Comments: 0

Add comments | More comments

Be the first to comment

Jean Nouvel of France becomes the 2008 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate 

Jean Nouvel of Paris, France has been chosen as the 2008 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. The formal ceremony for what has come to be known throughout the world as architecture’s highest honour will be held on June 2 in Washington,D.C. at the Library of Congress. At that time, a $100,000 grant and a bronze medallion will be bestowed on the 62-year old architect.

Nouvel who came to international attention with the completion of his Institut du Monde Arabe (usually referred to as IMA) in 1987 as one of President Francois Mitterand’s Grands Travaux in Paris, now has several projects in the United States, including the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis completed in 2006, a 75-story tower (Tour Verre) next door to MOMA in New York, and recently announced plans for a high rise condominium (Suncal Tower) in the Century City district of Los Angeles. In Europe, some of his other important works are the Cartier Foundation for Contemporary Art (Paris 1994), the Branly Museum (Paris 2006), the Agbar Tower (Barcelona 2005), a Courthouse (Nantes 2000), a Cultural and Conference Center (Lucerne 2000), an Opera House (Lyon 1993), and Expo 2002 (Switzerland). Also currently under construction is a concert hall in Copenhagen. Although the bulk of his work is in France, he has designed projects all over the world.

In announcing the jury’s choice, Thomas J. Pritzker, chairman of The Hyatt Foundation, quoted from the jury citation, “Of the many phrases that might be used to describe the career of architect Jean Nouvel, foremost are those that emphasize his courageous pursuit of new ideas and his challenge of accepted norms in order to stretch the boundaries of the field.” And further, Pritzker added, “The jury acknowledged the ‘persistence, imagination, exuberance, and, above all, an insatiable urge for creative experimentation’ as qualities abundant in Nouvel’s work.” In Nouvel’s own words, “My interest has always been in an architecture which reflects the modernity of our epoch as opposed to the rethinking of historical references. My work deals with what is happening now—our techniques and materials, what we are capable of doing today.”
Pritzker Prize jury chairman, The Lord Palumbo elaborated with more of the citation:“Since establishing his Paris based practice in the 1970s, Nouvel has pushed himself, as well as those around him, to consider new approaches to conventional architectural problems.
For Nouvel, in architecture there is no “style” a priori. Rather, a context, interpreted in the broadest sense to include culture, location, program and client, provokes him to develop a different strategy for each project.”

Nouvel is the second laureate to be chosen from France, the first being Christian de Portzamparc in 1994. Although 2008 marks the 30th anniversary, he is the 32nd laureate since the prize was founded in 1979. The purpose of the Pritzker Architecture Prize is to honor annually a living architect, whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.

The distinguished jury that selected Nouvel as the 2008 Laureate consists of its chairman, Lord Palumbo, internationally known architectural patron of London, chairman of the trustees, Serpentine Gallery, former chairman of the Arts Council of Great Britain, former chairman of the Tate Gallery Foundation, and former trustee of the Mies van der Rohe Archive at the Museum of Modern Art, New York; and alphabetically: Shigeru Ban, architect and professor at Keio University, Tokyo, Japan; Rolf Fehlbaum, chairman of the board, Vitra in Basel, Switzerland; Carlos Jimenez, professor, Rice University School of Architecture, principal, Carlos Jimenez Studio in Houston, Texas; Victoria Newhouse architectural historian and author, founder and director of the Architectural History Foundation, New York, New York; Renzo Piano, architect and Pritzker Laureate, of Paris, France and Genoa, Italy; and Karen Stein, writer, editor and architectural consultant in New York. Martha Thorne, formerly a curator of architecture at the Art Institute of Chicago, is executive director. The prize presentation ceremony moves to different locations around the world each year, paying homage to historic and contemporary architecture.

Ateliers Jean Nouvel

More projects by this architect

53W53 heads for the sky in New York

Rosewood Tower


Main Building EPO

Doha Tower

National Art Museum of China

Jane's Carousel

One New Change

Île Seguin Regeneration

Louvre Abu Dhabi

Nouvel Chelsea

The Louvre Abu Dhabi

Louvre Abu Dhabi

Copenhagen Concert Hall

Louvre Abu Dhabi

Tour Signal

Tower Verre

Soho Building

The Paris Philarmonic

Reinventing Cities

Click here to view the NEWS IN PICTURES tablet site