WAN Jobs
News Review
WAN Urban Challenge
WAN Awards
Previous Next

RIBA Stirling Prize, United Kingdom

Wednesday 16 Jul 2008

Stirling Prize shortlist announced

RIBA Stirling Prize by WAN Editorial in United Kingdom
NordPark Cable railway: Photography: Helene Binet, Iwan Baan & Werner Huthmacher 
Your comments on this project

No. of Comments: 0

Add comments | More comments

Be the first to comment

Hadid, Denton Corker Marshall and Allies and Morrison among the shortlist 

A pioneering court building in Manchester, a dramatic Cable Railway in Austria, the restoration of London's Royal Festival Hall and the vibrant Westminster Academy in London are among the six buildings which have made it on to this year's Royal Institute of British Architects shortlist for The RIBA Stirling Prize in association with The Architects' Journal. The £20,000 prize is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year.

The six buildings competing for this year's title are:

1. Accordia, Cambridge by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios/Alison Brooks Architects/Macreanor Lavington
2. Amsterdam Bijlmer Arena Station, Amsterdam, Netherlands by Grimshaw/ARCADIS Architecten
3. Manchester Civil Justice Centre, Manchester by Denton Corker Marshall
4. Nord Park Cable Railway, Austria by Zaha Hadid Architects
5. Royal Festival Hall, London by Allies and Morrison
6. Westminster Academy at the Naim Dangoor Centre, London, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

The RIBA Stirling Prize, named after the great British architect Sir James Stirling (1926-1992), is the UK's most prestigious prize and is now approaching its 13th year.

Previous Stirling Prize winners include the Museum of Modern Literature, Marbach am Neckar, Germany by David Chipperfield Architect in 2007, Barajas Airport by Richard Rogers Partnership in 2006, The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh by EMBT / RMJM Ltd in 2005 and St Mary Axe, London by Foster + Partners in 2004.

The RIBA Stirling Prize jury composed of Ben van Berkel from UNStudio Netherlands, Shelley Mc Namara from Grafton Architects in Dublin, Kieran Long, Architects Journal Editor and Lauren Laverne, TV Presenter will visit all six short listed buildings and then meet for a final time on the day of the presentation to pick the winner.

The 2008 Stirling Prize presentation will take place in Liverpool when the city is the European City of Culture on the 11th October 2008 at the Arena and Convention Centre (ACC). A Channel 4 broadcast will follow on the 12th October 2008.

Laura Salmi

WAN Editorial

More projects by this architect

Tech Spot #112 Climate Tile

Genoa bridge collapse

Bridge collapse

Festival collapse

Lost 20th century buildings illustrations

More Projects

Reinventing Cities

Click here to view the NEWS IN PICTURES tablet site