WAN Jobs
News Review
WAN Urban Challenge
WAN Awards
Previous Next

RIBA Stirling Prize 2007, London, United Kingdom

Thursday 04 Oct 2007

Stirling win for David Chipperfield

RIBA Stirling Prize 2007 by WAN Editorial in London, United Kingdom
Your comments on this project

No. of Comments: 0

Add comments | More comments

Be the first to comment

Museum of Modern Literature in Germany beats strong competition 

London based David Chipperfield was always a front runner with two entries. His win was announced on Saturday night at the recently refurbished Roundhouse, Chalk Farm Road, London.
The RIBA Stirling Prize is given for the RIBA Building of the Year. It is run in association with The Architects' Journal and is presented to the architects of the building which has been the most significant for the evolution of architecture in the past year.
The winning architect receives a cash prize of £20,000. The prize is named after the great British architect Sir James Stirling (1926-1992).
The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist in 2007 includes a redeveloped railway station, a musuem, two pavilions, a theatre and a performaing arts centre, all visited by the RIBA Stirling Prize Jury in September.
Clockwise from top left:
1. America's Cup pavilion in Valencia by David Chipperfield
2. Dresden Station Redevelopment by Foster and Partners
3. Casa de Musica, Portugal by OMA
4. Museum of Modern Literature in Germany by David Chipperfield
5. The Young Vic, London by Haworth Tomkins
6. The Savill Building in Windsor by Glenn Howells Architects

Key Facts

Status Completed
Value 0(m€)
WAN Editorial

More projects by this architect

Tech Spot #111 Climate Tile

Genoa bridge collapse

Bridge collapse

Festival collapse

Lost 20th century buildings illustrations

More Projects

Latest Jobs in London

Revit Architectural Technologists

Technical Architects

Senior Architect

Reinventing Cities

Click here to view the NEWS IN PICTURES tablet site