Barcelona’s City of Justice receives 2010 RIBA Award

The set of buildings that comprise the City of Justice in Barcelona and L’Hospitalet del Llobregat, a project by David Chipperfield Architects and Fermín Vázquez (b720 Arquitectos), has been granted a 2010 RIBA Award. The awards, given by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), recognise ‘excellence in architecture’ and buildings that ‘add value to people’s lives’, according to RIBA President Ruth Reed.

The City of Justice will compete with eight other European projects and 93 British buildings for the prestigious RIBA Stirling Prize, which is awarded to projects designed by architects based in the United Kingdom and will be presented in London on 2nd October. This is not the first time a joint project by David Chipperfield Architects and Fermín Vázquez’s practice has received the RIBA Award. In 2007, the America’s Cup Building in Valencia won the RIBA European Award and was a finalist for the RIBA Stirling Prize.

Wednesday 26 May 2010
Green light for Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners' Geneva Airport scheme
Thu 27 Nov 2014
Fulton Trotter Architects appoints Justine Ebzery as Practice Operations and Business Manager
Wed 26 Nov 2014
Images surface of Disney relocation tower blocks subsiding into one another in Chuansha Town
Wed 26 Nov 2014
KPF releases statement on the passing of Paul Katz, Managing Partner at Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
Tue 25 Nov 2014
Green light for Fielden House at London Bridge
Mon 24 Nov 2014
Japan's Maglev reaches speeds of 500km/ph
Fri 21 Nov 2014
Hawkins\Brown-designed hybrid timber tower tops out in London
Fri 21 Nov 2014
Work starts on Chipperfield's Palais Varnhagen
Thu 20 Nov 2014