Civic Trust Awards shortlist announced

From 335 entries received, 44 projects have been shortlisted for the annual Civic Trust Awards, taking place on Friday 12th March at St George’s Hall in Liverpool. The awards are given to projects that are culturally, socially or economically beneficial, and make an outstanding contribution to the quality and appearance of the built environment.

Architect and TV Presenter George Clarke (Channel 4 – The Home Show) said: "I am delighted to be presenting this years Civic Trust Awards which aim to recognise excellence in design whilst having a positive impact on local communities they serve. From cafés to churches, housing to hospitals, public realm to public art, the Civic Trust Awards offer an opportunity for community focussed built environment success to be celebrated on a truly national level."

The Civic Trust Awards is will also present a new Special Award for 2010 - a memorial to former Director of the Civic Trust, Michael Middleton CBE who sadly passed away in August last year, aged 91. The Award will be presented to a conservation project or new build within a conservation area, selected by the National Panel from this year’s group of Award winning schemes.

Further Special Awards will also be presented to projects which have demonstrated outstanding credentials in Sustainability, Community Engagement and Restoration.

The shortlist is comprised:

• 7-10 Old Bailey, London
• Abbeyleix Public Library, Laois, Republic of Ireland
• Blencow Hall, Penrith
• Bodegas Protos, Valladolid, Spain
• Boundary, Tower Hamlets, London
• Carrochan, Loch Lomond and the Trosachs National Park Authority HQ, Balloch, Scotland
• Clapham Manor Primary School, Lambeth, London
• Creative Arts Units, Aberystwyth, Wales
• Dream, St.Helens, Merseyside
• Forge Arts & Café Caponata, Camden, London
• Fraser Building, Glasgow
• Gunpowder Mill, Epping Forest, Essex
• Hotel Missoni, Edinburgh
• John F Kennedy RC School, Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
• John Lewis Department Store & Cineplex, Leicester
• Joseph Chamberlain Sixth Form College, Birmingham
• Kentish Town Health Centre, Camden, London
• Leeds Grand Theatre, Leeds
• Liverpool One, Liverpool
• Lowther Childrens Centre, Richmond upon Thames, London
• Merchants’ Academy, Bristol
• Midland Hotel, Morecambe, Lancashire
• Navigation Warehouse, Wakefield
• New Stobhill Hospital, Glasgow
• Normand Park, Fulham, London
• Norwich Cinema City, Norwich
• Old Spitalfields Market, Tower Hamlets, London
• Paradise Street Pedestrian Bridge, Liverpool
• Pendleton Gateway Centre, Salford
• Potterrow Development for the University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh
• Restoration of Shaw House, Newbury, West Berkshire
• Saint Malachy’s Church, Belfast, Northern Ireland
• St Luke’s CE Primary School, Wolverhampton
• St Martin-in-the-Fields, Trafalgar Square, London
• Stanbrook Abbey, York
• The Dennis Sciama Building, Portsmouth
• The Hull Truck Theatre, Hull
• The Pasmore Apollo Pavilion, Peterlee, County Durham
• The Royal Hall, Harrogate, North Yorkshire
• The Shirley Sherwood Gallery of Botanical Art, Richmond upon Thames, London
• Timberyard Housing, Dublin, Republic of Ireland
• Trinity Hospice, Lambeth, London
• VISUAL - Centre for Contemporary Art & George Bernard Shaw Theatre, Carlow, Republic of Ireland
• Wexford Opera House, Wexford, Republic of Ireland

In addition, the following projects have received special recognition by our National Panel for their strong community initiative and positive impact on the people they serve:

• Agar Children’s Centre, Camden, London
• Baldock Town Centre, North Hertfordshire
• Barford Village Shop, Barford, Warwickshire
• Cathedral House - Huddersfield Christian Fellowship, , Huddersfield
• Chinese Community & Resource Centre, Belfast, Northern Ireland
• Gracehill Old School, Ballymena, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
• Holywood Old School, Belfast, Northern Ireland
• Manor Farm, Ruislip, Hillingdon
• Pollok Civic Realm, Glasgow
• Scala Cinema and Arts Centre, Prestatyn, Wales
• The Merchants House, Shepton Mallet, Somerset
• Whittington Castle, Whittington, Shropshire

Tuesday 19 January 2010
St George welcomes NAWIC to Battersea Reach
Fri 23 Jan 2015
Architecture for Humanity files for bankruptcy
Wed 21 Jan 2015
Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners announced their new office, releasing the film ’The Leadenhall Building’
Wed 21 Jan 2015
HOK Completes acquisition of 360 Architecture
Thu 15 Jan 2015
Broadway Malyan celebrates first built project in the Americas
Thu 15 Jan 2015
Mersin Integrated Health Campus reaches financial close
Wed 14 Jan 2015
In 2014, 97 buildings of 200 meters’ height or greater were completed – a new record
Wed 14 Jan 2015
SimpsonHaugh and Partners announce new LLP partners
Tue 13 Jan 2015