WAN Awards 2015


WAN Mobile
WAN Mobile
Previous Next

RIBA special awards shortlist, London, United Kingdom

Thursday 04 Sep 2008

RIBA unveils special awards shortlist

Manchester Civil Justice Centre ©Tim Griffith 
Your comments on this project

No. of Comments: 0

Add comments | More comments

Be the first to comment

23 groundbreaking new buildings selected 

The Royal Institute of British Architects special awards honour the best buildings with specific emphasis on: sustainability, conservation; exemplary school design; public spaces and smaller, exceptional projects built on limited budgets. Each award includes a prize of £5,000 to be presented to the winning team.

The shortlist was drawn from the 92 RIBA Award winning buildings announced earlier this year. The list of the categories and the short listed projects are as follows:

The Crown Estate Conservation Award

1. The Listed Wind Tunnels by Julian Harrap Architects
2. De La Warr Pavilion by John McAslan & Partners
3. St Pancras International by Alastair Lansley (for Union Railways)
4. Royal Festival Hall by Allies and Morrison
5. Theatre Royal, Bury St Edmunds by Levitt Bernstein Associates

RIBA/CABE Pubilc Space Award

1. Old Market Square by Gustafson Porter
2. Royal Festival Hall by Allies and Morrison with Landscape architects Gross Max and Master planners Rick Mather Architects
3. Royal Observatory by Allies and Morrison with Landscape architects Land Use Consultants

Stephen Lawrence Prize

1. East Beach Cafe by Heatherwick Studio
2. Classroom of the Future by Gollifer Langston Architects
3. Cremorne Riverside Centre by Sarah Wigglesworth Architects
4. The Sackler Crossing by John Pawson
5. Glass & Timber Houses by Hampson Williams

The RIBA/Sorrell Foundation Schools Award

1. Oundle School Science Technology Block by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
2. Thomas Deacon Academy by Foster + Partners
3. Bristol Brunel Academy by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
4. Pinewood Infant School by Hampshire County Council Architecture & Design Services
5. St Marylebone Church of England School of Performing Arts Facility by Gumuchdjian Architects
6. Westminster Academy at the Naim Dangoor Centre by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

The RIBA/English Partnerships Sustainability Award

1. Oxley Park by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
2. Oundle School Science Technology Block by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
3. Bristol Brunel Academy by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
4. Manchester Civil Justice Centre by Denton Corker Marshall

The winners of six of the special awards, including the Manser medal, will be announced as part of the RIBA Stirling Prize Dinner in association with The Architects' Journal on Saturday 11 October, in Liverpool.

The 2008 RIBA Stirling Prize jury comprises of Eva Jiricna architect, Eva Jiricna Architects; Gordon Murray – architect, Murray Dunlop Architects; Shelley McNamara – architect, Grafton Architects; Kieran Long – Editor, The Architects’ Journal and Diarmuid Gavin – garden designer, Diarmuid Gavin Designs.

Key Facts

Value 0(m€)
Were you involved in this scheme?
WAN Editorial

More projects by this architect

WAN AWARDS: Mixed-Use Award 2014

Shop Talk: Richard Coleman

WAN AWARDS: Product Innovation award 2014

Brick by William Hall

WAN AWARDS Residential winners 2014

More Projects

Latest Jobs in London

Project Coordinator

Senior Architect - Workplace

Architect - Historic Environment

Qualified Architect

Head of Programme: Architecture

All jobs in London


Click here to view the NEWS IN PICTURES tablet site