SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
City Gate project approved

On Thursday 25th March, Renzo Piano’s highly debated project 'City Gate' was approved by the Malta Environment and Planning Authority. The project itself includes the entrance to the city of Valletta, the building of Parliament House on Freedom Square and the ‘roofless theatre’ on the site of the former opera house. The build was approved at nine votes to one, with the Labour party representative voting in opposition. It is yet unknown what the brief or original instruction was that was given to Renzo Piano, but the Labour party representative is said to have felt that the government had been insensitive to the public in approving the project, as 128 artists had spoken against the proposed roofless theatre.

The City Gate project has been widely debated over the last few years, receiving 1,264 objection letters and claims that 85% of the population wanted the previous theatre as it was before, rather than Piano's roofless design. However, the recent conference of around 50 representatives of environmental NGOs eventually overruled all objections and approved the new design.

Click here to view a previous article on the City Gate project.

Sian Disson

IN BRIEF
Monday 29 March 2010
RMJM Appointed as Interior Designer for Two Inter Terminal Stations at Sheremetyevo Airport
Wed 15 Mar 2017
Assael Architecture has best year ever and promotes four new directors
Thu 16 Feb 2017
Perkins+Will rings in the New Year with a new MD in Houston
Tue 07 Feb 2017
HOK joins Well Living Lab Alliance
Thu 02 Feb 2017
AIA Los Angeles is Proud to Announce Our 2017 Board of Directors
Thu 26 Jan 2017
The American Institute of Architects – Long Beach / South Bay Chapter announces 2017's Board of Directors
Mon 23 Jan 2017
Robert Adam named 15th Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate
Thu 19 Jan 2017
HOK Strengthens London Office with three key additions
Mon 16 Jan 2017