City Gate project approved

On Thursday 25th March, Renzo Piano’s highly debated project 'City Gate' was approved by the Malta Environment and Planning Authority. The project itself includes the entrance to the city of Valletta, the building of Parliament House on Freedom Square and the ‘roofless theatre’ on the site of the former opera house. The build was approved at nine votes to one, with the Labour party representative voting in opposition. It is yet unknown what the brief or original instruction was that was given to Renzo Piano, but the Labour party representative is said to have felt that the government had been insensitive to the public in approving the project, as 128 artists had spoken against the proposed roofless theatre.

The City Gate project has been widely debated over the last few years, receiving 1,264 objection letters and claims that 85% of the population wanted the previous theatre as it was before, rather than Piano's roofless design. However, the recent conference of around 50 representatives of environmental NGOs eventually overruled all objections and approved the new design.

Click here to view a previous article on the City Gate project.

Sian Disson

Monday 29 March 2010
Traffic in Britain’s cities slower than a horse and cart
Mon 17 Oct 2016
London’s global competiveness at stake warns NLA
Thu 13 Oct 2016
New software aids earthquake recovery
Thu 06 Oct 2016
Perkins+Will commits to Fitwel Certification for North American offices
Wed 05 Oct 2016
Benoy Appoints New Directors
Thu 29 Sep 2016
Biomimicry in Architecture 2nd edition
Fri 23 Sep 2016
2016 AIA|LA Presidential Honourees announced by American Institute of Architects Los Angeles Chapter
Mon 19 Sep 2016
Over 150 architects respond to Homerton College’s celebrating Homerton dining hall competition
Tue 13 Sep 2016