Eric Owen Moss is honoured in Austria

Eric Owen Moss was awarded an Austrian Decoration of Honor for Science and Art during a ceremony at the Hofburg Palace on Tuesday evening. The award is presented by the Austrian Federal President to individuals who have “distinguished themselves and earned general acclaim through especially superior creative and commendable services in the areas of the sciences or the arts.” Moss was honoured alongside the attorney Manfred Burgstaller and the artist Oswald Oberhuber, who join the ranks of recipients including Marina Abramovic (2008), Václav Havel (2005), Hans Hollein (1990), and Elias Canetti (1972).

Since 1973 Eric Owen Moss Architects has designed a variety of award-winning buildings that continue to reshape the discourse of international architecture. The firm has garnered over 100 local, national, and international design awards.

Moss was honored with the Academy Award in Architecture from the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1999. He received the AIA/LA Gold Medal in 2001, and was a recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of California, Berkeley in 2003. In 2007, he received the Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize, recognizing a distinguished history of architectural design. In 2011 he was awarded the Jencks Award by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA). In 2014 Moss was inducted into the National Acad­emy. The firm’s most recent project, Pterodactyl, has received numerous awards including local, state, and national design awards from the American Institute of Architects.

Tuesday 28 June 2016
Will Alsop 1947- 2018
Mon 14 May 2018
Perkins+Will strengthens its London architecture team with new senior appointment
Wed 25 Apr 2018
Tue 20 Mar 2018
NBBJ London office announces strategic leadership additions
Tue 06 Mar 2018
Casey Jones joins Perkins+Will
Thu 22 Feb 2018
David Chipperfield Architects Works 2018
Mon 05 Feb 2018
Darling Associates expands leadership
Tue 16 Jan 2018
Woods Bagot Announces New China Head
Wed 03 Jan 2018