Chicago Architecture Biennial announces 2015 participants

The Chicago Architecture Biennial have announced a list of architecture firms and artists who will convene in Chicago this fall for the largest international survey of contemporary architecture in North America.

This year’s event, titled The State of the Art of Architecture, takes place between 3 October, 2015 through 3 January, 2016, and will provide a platform for ground breaking architectural projects and spatial experiments that demonstrate how creativity and innovation can radically transform our lived experience. Through a constellation of exhibitions, full-scale installations, and a program of events, the Biennial will invite the public to engage with and think about architecture in new and unexpected ways, and to take part in a global discussion on the future of the field.

Over 60 studios—representing more than 30 countries, across five continents—were selected by Biennial Co-Artistic Directors Joseph Grima and Sarah Herda, who are supported by an advisory committee comprising David Adjaye, Elizabeth Diller, Jeanne Gang, Frank Gehry, Sylvia Lavin, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Lord Peter Palumbo, and Stanley Tigerman.

"The city of Chicago has left an indelible mark on the field of architecture, from the world's first modern skyscraper to revolutionary urban designs," said Mayor Rahm Emanuel. "That's why there's no better host city than Chicago for this rare global event. The Chicago Architecture Biennial offers an unprecedented chance to celebrate the architectural, cultural, and design advancements that have collectively shaped our world."

The participants of the inaugural Chicago Architecture Biennial (listed below) will present their unique architectural work as part of the Biennial exhibition, which will occupy the Chicago Cultural Center, as well as additional sites across the city: Millennium Park, City Gallery in the Historic Water Tower, 72 E. Randolph, and the Stony Island Arts Bank, the latest initiative of acclaimed Chicago artist Theaster Gates.

A complete list of Biennial programming, special events, and symposia will be available in the coming months at

Inaugural Chicago Architecture Biennial Participants


Al Borde (Quito, Ecuador)

allzone / Rachaporn Choochuey (Bangkok, Thailand)

Andreas Angelidakis (Athens, Greece)

Andrés Jaque / Office for Political Innovation (Madrid, Spain; New York, USA)

ArandaLasch (Tucson, USA; New York, USA)

Assemble (London, UK)

Atelier Bow-Wow (Tokyo, Japan)

Iwan Baan (Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Erin Besler / Besler & Sons (Los Angeles, USA)

Tatiana Bilbao S.C. (Mexico City, Mexico)

Bjarke Ingels Group / BIG (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Santiago Borja (Mexico City, Mexico)

Carlos Bunga (Barcelona, Spain)

Bureau Spectacular / Jimenez Lai (Los Angeles, USA)

Csutoras & Liando (Jakarta, Indonesia; London, UK)

Design With Company (Chicago, USA)

El Equipo de Mazzanti / Giancarlo Mazzanti (Bogota, Colombia)

Frida Escobedo (Mexico City, Mexico)

Didier Faustino (Paris, France)

Moon Hoon (Seoul, Korea)

Indie Architecture + Paul Preissner Architects (Denver/Chicago, USA)

John Ronan Architects (Chicago, USA)

Johnston Marklee (Los Angeles, USA)

junya.ishigami+associates (Tokyo, Japan)

Kéré Architecture / Francis Kéré (Berlin, Germany)

Kuehn Malvezzi (Berlin, Germany)

Anne Lacaton & Jean-Philippe Vassal and Frederic Druot (Paris, France)

Yasmeen Lari / Heritage Foundation Pakistan (Lahore, Pakistan)

Lateral Office (Toronto, Canada)

LIST / Ido Avissar (Paris, France)

MAIO (Barcelona, Spain)

Marshall Brown Projects (Chicago, USA)

Mass Studies / Minsuk Cho (Seoul, Korea)

MOS / Michael Meredith and Hilary Sample (New York, USA)

New-Territories/M4 / Francois Roche & Camille Lacadee (Paris, France/Bangkok, Thailand)

NLÉ / Kunlé Adeyemi (Lagos, Nigeria; Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Norman Kelley (Chicago, USA; New York, USA)

OFFICE / Kersten Geers David Van Severen (Brussels, Belgium)

Onishimaki + Hyakuda Architects (Tokyo, Japan)

OPEN Architecture/ Li Hu & Huang Wenjing (Beijing, China)

Lluís Ortega / Sio2arch (Chicago, USA; Barcelona, Spain)

otherothers / David Neustein & Grace Mortlock (Sydney, Australia)

Pedro&Juana (Mexico City, Mexico)

Pezo von Ellrichshausen (Concepcion, Chile)

Plan:b Arquitectos / Felipe Mesa & Federico Mesa (Medellin, Colombia)

PORT (Chicago, USA)

PRODUCTORA (Mexico City, Mexico)

RAAAF [Rietveld Architecture-Art-Affordances] (Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Bryony Roberts (Los Angeles, USA; Oslo, Norway)

RUA Arquitetos (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

Rural Urban Framework (Hong Kong)

SO-IL (New York, USA)

Sou Fujimoto Architects (Tokyo, Japan)

studio Albori (Milan, Italy)

Studio [D] Tale (Harare, Zimbabwe; Capetown, South Africa; London, UK)

Studio Gang / Jeanne Gang (Chicago, USA)

TOMA (Santiago, Chile)

UrbanLab / Sarah Dunn and Martin Felson (Chicago, USA)

VTN / Vo Trong Nghia Architects (Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam)

WAI Architecture Think Tank (Beijing, China)

Weathers / Sean Lally (Chicago, USA)

Amanda Williams (Chicago, USA)

WORKac+ Ant Farm / Amale Andraos & Dan Wood, Chip Lord & Curtis Schreier (New York, USA)

Tuesday 21 April 2015
UK planning rules to be eased to allow an extra storey
Thu 04 Oct 2018
Perkins+Will's Los Angeles studio announces new leadership for Corporate and Commercial Projects
Thu 06 Sep 2018
Bohlin Cywinski Jackson Principal Jon Jackson has died
Wed 29 Aug 2018
Wed 22 Aug 2018
Darling Associates continues year-on-year growth: Turnover and profit up following anniversary year of expansion and acquisition
Fri 17 Aug 2018
Perkins+Will makes strategic hire to its London studio
Fri 17 Aug 2018
The 100-year life: the role of housing, planning and design
Wed 18 Jul 2018
Thu 05 Jul 2018