SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
9-month construction of world's next tallest building gets underway in Changsha

Construction has commenced on Sky City in Changsha, the latest project from China Broad Group. A groundbreaking ceremony was held this past weekend (Saturday 20 July) to celebrate the commencement of this landmark scheme. China Broad Group has made a name for itself with the high-speed construction of its prefabricated buildings in China including the T30 Hotel, a 30-storey property built in only 15 days.

When complete, the Sky City tower will reach 838m in height, taking the title of the world’s tallest building from the Burj Khalifa in Dubai which stands at 829.8m. The tower will act as a vertical city, including residential, commercial, medical, education and retail aspects and will be an experiment in what Chairman of China Broad Group Zhang Yue believes is the future of the residential market.

At the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH) Height & Heritage Conference in June, Zhang Yue explained: “Land use is a top concern for China. Occupation of the land has caused a lot of social and environmental issues. It has created huge demand for transportation and energy consumption. In the end, energy conservation is the focus of everything.”

IN BRIEF
Tuesday 23 July 2013
Foster + Partners announce redundancies
Tue 25 Apr 2017
WS Atkins buyout will create a global ‘champion’
Mon 24 Apr 2017
Atkins approached by Canadian rival
Wed 05 Apr 2017
HITT Contracting opens San Francisco Bay Area office
Tue 04 Apr 2017
Design team sought for redevelopment of Winchester’s Station Approach
Fri 31 Mar 2017
Grant Associates expands presence in Singapore
Mon 27 Mar 2017
RMJM Appointed as Interior Designer for Two Inter Terminal Stations at Sheremetyevo Airport
Wed 15 Mar 2017
Assael Architecture has best year ever and promotes four new directors
Thu 16 Feb 2017