SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
9-month construction of world's next tallest building gets underway in Changsha

Construction has commenced on Sky City in Changsha, the latest project from China Broad Group. A groundbreaking ceremony was held this past weekend (Saturday 20 July) to celebrate the commencement of this landmark scheme. China Broad Group has made a name for itself with the high-speed construction of its prefabricated buildings in China including the T30 Hotel, a 30-storey property built in only 15 days.

When complete, the Sky City tower will reach 838m in height, taking the title of the world’s tallest building from the Burj Khalifa in Dubai which stands at 829.8m. The tower will act as a vertical city, including residential, commercial, medical, education and retail aspects and will be an experiment in what Chairman of China Broad Group Zhang Yue believes is the future of the residential market.

At the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH) Height & Heritage Conference in June, Zhang Yue explained: “Land use is a top concern for China. Occupation of the land has caused a lot of social and environmental issues. It has created huge demand for transportation and energy consumption. In the end, energy conservation is the focus of everything.”

IN BRIEF
Tuesday 23 July 2013
LIAM FOX LAUNCHES AWARDS FOR BEST BUSINESS PARTNERSHIPS OF THE FUTURE
Tue 20 Mar 2018
NBBJ London office announces strategic leadership additions
Tue 06 Mar 2018
Casey Jones joins Perkins+Will
Thu 22 Feb 2018
David Chipperfield Architects Works 2018
Mon 05 Feb 2018
Darling Associates expands leadership
Tue 16 Jan 2018
Woods Bagot Announces New China Head
Wed 03 Jan 2018
University of Bristol appoints Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects, Hawkins\Brown, and BuroHappold for new University Library
Mon 11 Dec 2017
AIA|LA announce winners of 2017 student awards competition
Thu 23 Nov 2017