SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Hofpoort on the Hofplein, Rotterdam transformed into 24-hour city in June for architecture celebration

One of the most recognisable buildings in Rotterdam, the Hofpoort on the Hofplein, will be transformed into a 24-hour city on Friday 21 June and Saturday 22 June. All are welcome to come and eat, drink, dance, relax, breakfast, discover, meet, skate, create, shop and much more. For a full 24 hours the Hofpoort will be the epicentre of Architecture Day in Rotterdam.

The Hofplein area used to be regarded as the pulsing heart of Rotterdam. AIR, the Rotterdam architecture centre, ZUS - De Dépendance centre for urban culture and Rotterdam ArchiGuides are joining forces to bring it back to life again on Architecture Day. For 24 hours they will combine to transform the Hofpoort into a vertical city where there is something new to experience every hour.

During 24Hofpoort the whole building will be used for a programme based on the theme of 24-hour architecture. Experiment, cooperation and imagination will join in creating a vertical 24-hour city. Some of the floors of the building will be turned into a cinema, theatre or disco, others into a shopping street, museum or camp site.

Right at the top is the restaurant with a spectacular panoramic view of the city of Rotterdam. Breakfast will be served at daybreak on Saturday morning. There will be tours of the building itself and of its surroundings: Rotterdam Central District. More information can be found here.

IN BRIEF
Thursday 23 May 2013
WAN Awards Judge in the news
Tue 30 Aug 2016
Arup promotes John Karn to Principal
Tue 23 Aug 2016
London gets a new night tube service
Thu 18 Aug 2016
Finsbury Leisure Centre Design Competition: Winner announced
Tue 16 Aug 2016
Sydney Opera House to be upgraded
Fri 12 Aug 2016
Royal College of Art and Malcolm Reading Consultants announce Battersea South Architect shortlist
Thu 11 Aug 2016
Gary Neville unveils his £200 million vision for Manchester city centre
Fri 29 Jul 2016
British engineers Eckersley O’Callaghan invest in French practice
Thu 28 Jul 2016