SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Hofpoort on the Hofplein, Rotterdam transformed into 24-hour city in June for architecture celebration

One of the most recognisable buildings in Rotterdam, the Hofpoort on the Hofplein, will be transformed into a 24-hour city on Friday 21 June and Saturday 22 June. All are welcome to come and eat, drink, dance, relax, breakfast, discover, meet, skate, create, shop and much more. For a full 24 hours the Hofpoort will be the epicentre of Architecture Day in Rotterdam.

The Hofplein area used to be regarded as the pulsing heart of Rotterdam. AIR, the Rotterdam architecture centre, ZUS - De Dépendance centre for urban culture and Rotterdam ArchiGuides are joining forces to bring it back to life again on Architecture Day. For 24 hours they will combine to transform the Hofpoort into a vertical city where there is something new to experience every hour.

During 24Hofpoort the whole building will be used for a programme based on the theme of 24-hour architecture. Experiment, cooperation and imagination will join in creating a vertical 24-hour city. Some of the floors of the building will be turned into a cinema, theatre or disco, others into a shopping street, museum or camp site.

Right at the top is the restaurant with a spectacular panoramic view of the city of Rotterdam. Breakfast will be served at daybreak on Saturday morning. There will be tours of the building itself and of its surroundings: Rotterdam Central District. More information can be found here.

IN BRIEF
Thursday 23 May 2013
Shortlist Announced for Taylor Wimpey Project 2020 Design Competition
Fri 15 Jul 2016
Atkins helps secure Asian Development Bank loan for Beijing Air Quality Improvement Program
Tue 12 Jul 2016
Croydon makes the tourist list
Fri 08 Jul 2016
McDowell+Benedetti pursue separate interests
Wed 06 Jul 2016
Eric Owen Moss is honoured in Austria
Tue 28 Jun 2016
Nerin Kadribegovic named partner at Lehrer Architects
Thu 23 Jun 2016
Ambitious public art project will use light to transform London’s relationship with the Thames
Tue 07 Jun 2016
Winner of St Mary Redcliffe Design Competition announced
Fri 03 Jun 2016