SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Hofpoort on the Hofplein, Rotterdam transformed into 24-hour city in June for architecture celebration

One of the most recognisable buildings in Rotterdam, the Hofpoort on the Hofplein, will be transformed into a 24-hour city on Friday 21 June and Saturday 22 June. All are welcome to come and eat, drink, dance, relax, breakfast, discover, meet, skate, create, shop and much more. For a full 24 hours the Hofpoort will be the epicentre of Architecture Day in Rotterdam.

The Hofplein area used to be regarded as the pulsing heart of Rotterdam. AIR, the Rotterdam architecture centre, ZUS - De Dépendance centre for urban culture and Rotterdam ArchiGuides are joining forces to bring it back to life again on Architecture Day. For 24 hours they will combine to transform the Hofpoort into a vertical city where there is something new to experience every hour.

During 24Hofpoort the whole building will be used for a programme based on the theme of 24-hour architecture. Experiment, cooperation and imagination will join in creating a vertical 24-hour city. Some of the floors of the building will be turned into a cinema, theatre or disco, others into a shopping street, museum or camp site.

Right at the top is the restaurant with a spectacular panoramic view of the city of Rotterdam. Breakfast will be served at daybreak on Saturday morning. There will be tours of the building itself and of its surroundings: Rotterdam Central District. More information can be found here.

IN BRIEF
Thursday 23 May 2013
Assael Architecture has best year ever and promotes four new directors
Thu 16 Feb 2017
Perkins+Will rings in the New Year with a new MD in Houston
Tue 07 Feb 2017
HOK joins Well Living Lab Alliance
Thu 02 Feb 2017
AIA Los Angeles is Proud to Announce Our 2017 Board of Directors
Thu 26 Jan 2017
The American Institute of Architects – Long Beach / South Bay Chapter announces 2017's Board of Directors
Mon 23 Jan 2017
Robert Adam named 15th Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate
Thu 19 Jan 2017
HOK Strengthens London Office with three key additions
Mon 16 Jan 2017
Perkins+Will welcomes Martin Leitner as new leader of cities and sites practice
Tue 10 Jan 2017