SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Habitat for Humanity seeks funding to help families affected by Sichuan earthquake

Habitat for Humanity has launched an appeal to assist families affected by the 7.0-magnititude earthquake that struck Lushan County, in Sichuan province, southwestern China, on Saturday 20 April.

Over 190 people have been killed, nearly two million people affected, and more than 70,000 homes have collapsed, according to the Civil Affairs Department of Sichuan. The earthquake epicenter was in Longmen township, Lushan county, in Ya’an City, at a shallow depth of just 13 km.

“Our Habitat for Humanity China staff are in the affected area and liaising with the local government to formulate disaster response plans. We will be helping rebuild homes, and your donation will enable us to help more affected families. As in previous disasters, we are committed to supporting affected families rebuild their lives and gain access to decent shelter,” said Rick Hathaway, Asia-Pacific vice president for Habitat for Humanity.

Click here to donate.

IN BRIEF
Tuesday 30 April 2013
WAN Awards Judge in the news
Tue 30 Aug 2016
Arup promotes John Karn to Principal
Tue 23 Aug 2016
London gets a new night tube service
Thu 18 Aug 2016
Finsbury Leisure Centre Design Competition: Winner announced
Tue 16 Aug 2016
Sydney Opera House to be upgraded
Fri 12 Aug 2016
Royal College of Art and Malcolm Reading Consultants announce Battersea South Architect shortlist
Thu 11 Aug 2016
Gary Neville unveils his £200 million vision for Manchester city centre
Fri 29 Jul 2016
British engineers Eckersley O’Callaghan invest in French practice
Thu 28 Jul 2016