SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Habitat for Humanity seeks funding to help families affected by Sichuan earthquake

Habitat for Humanity has launched an appeal to assist families affected by the 7.0-magnititude earthquake that struck Lushan County, in Sichuan province, southwestern China, on Saturday 20 April.

Over 190 people have been killed, nearly two million people affected, and more than 70,000 homes have collapsed, according to the Civil Affairs Department of Sichuan. The earthquake epicenter was in Longmen township, Lushan county, in Ya’an City, at a shallow depth of just 13 km.

“Our Habitat for Humanity China staff are in the affected area and liaising with the local government to formulate disaster response plans. We will be helping rebuild homes, and your donation will enable us to help more affected families. As in previous disasters, we are committed to supporting affected families rebuild their lives and gain access to decent shelter,” said Rick Hathaway, Asia-Pacific vice president for Habitat for Humanity.

Click here to donate.

IN BRIEF
Tuesday 30 April 2013
Shortlist Announced for Taylor Wimpey Project 2020 Design Competition
Fri 15 Jul 2016
Atkins helps secure Asian Development Bank loan for Beijing Air Quality Improvement Program
Tue 12 Jul 2016
Croydon makes the tourist list
Fri 08 Jul 2016
McDowell+Benedetti pursue separate interests
Wed 06 Jul 2016
Eric Owen Moss is honoured in Austria
Tue 28 Jun 2016
Nerin Kadribegovic named partner at Lehrer Architects
Thu 23 Jun 2016
Ambitious public art project will use light to transform London’s relationship with the Thames
Tue 07 Jun 2016
Winner of St Mary Redcliffe Design Competition announced
Fri 03 Jun 2016