SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Habitat for Humanity seeks funding to help families affected by Sichuan earthquake

Habitat for Humanity has launched an appeal to assist families affected by the 7.0-magnititude earthquake that struck Lushan County, in Sichuan province, southwestern China, on Saturday 20 April.

Over 190 people have been killed, nearly two million people affected, and more than 70,000 homes have collapsed, according to the Civil Affairs Department of Sichuan. The earthquake epicenter was in Longmen township, Lushan county, in Ya’an City, at a shallow depth of just 13 km.

“Our Habitat for Humanity China staff are in the affected area and liaising with the local government to formulate disaster response plans. We will be helping rebuild homes, and your donation will enable us to help more affected families. As in previous disasters, we are committed to supporting affected families rebuild their lives and gain access to decent shelter,” said Rick Hathaway, Asia-Pacific vice president for Habitat for Humanity.

Click here to donate.

IN BRIEF
Tuesday 30 April 2013
Winner of Leicester design competition announced
Fri 21 Aug 2015
Kingston University gets go ahead for Grafton’s first UK building
Wed 19 Aug 2015
Tolkien fans aim to raise £2bn to recreate city
Mon 17 Aug 2015
Open Call for the British Pavilion at the 14th Venice Architecture Biennale
Fri 07 Aug 2015
RIBA London and RIBA Competitions announce winner to design the RIBA Lounge at MIPIM UK
Tue 04 Aug 2015
Nigel Lea joins Gensler as a Design Director
Thu 30 Jul 2015
Architect appointed for next building at Coventry’s Friargate
Wed 29 Jul 2015
Duravit launches third annual Designer Dream Bath competition
Mon 27 Jul 2015