SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
FIGMENT NYC opens calls for art for 2013 season

FIGMENT, a free, inclusive, participatory arts event held in multiple cities and drawing tens of thousands of participants each year, is seeking artists and volunteers for its 2013 season in New York City.

FIGMENT offers abundant opportunities for both emerging and established artists to showcase original works. FIGMENT invites inspired makers, doers, poets, visionaries, beginners, experts, dreamers, and thinkers to create something that gets people to interact, to participate and collaborate with what they bring and with each other.

Artists and participants are encouraged to stretch their own boundaries: FIGMENT welcomes works in every imaginable medium including sculpture, installation, performance, music, workshops, games, experiences, site-specific pieces, social experiments, requests, challenges, guided meditations, performances based on audience input, sculptures that move or respond, heart-stopping technological innovations that change the way we see the world, and any combination thereof.

Artists may submit works until Thu, 24 April at www.newyork.figmentproject.org/participate

Weekend event: 8-9 June / submission deadline Thu, 24 April
Interactive Sculpture Garden: June through September / submission deadline Fri, 15 February
Artist-designed Minigolf Course: June through September / submission deadline Fri, 1 March

IN BRIEF
Wednesday 13 February 2013
New concert hall for London
Fri 20 Feb 2015
Is sexism on the rise in architecture?
Wed 18 Feb 2015
Planning granted for new Birmingham Conservatoire
Tue 17 Feb 2015
Architects call on politicians to ‘Build a Better Britain’
Mon 16 Feb 2015
Up in the Air at MoMA PS1
Tue 10 Feb 2015
Robert A.M. Stern Architects issues 2015 RAMSA travel fellowship: call for proposals
Wed 28 Jan 2015
First 21st Century Pavilion to debut at the 56th Venice Biennale in 2015
Wed 28 Jan 2015
RHWL joins Aedas
Wed 28 Jan 2015