Global architecture competition for students - Better cities, better lives

Open to: All architecture students (undergraduates/architects in training)

The brief: The UIA theme for 'World Architecture Day 2012: London' is Architects are city changers. As global populations rise, architects will be responsible for shaping the urban fabric and developing the necessary tools to accommodate the citizens of the 21st century. This theme embraces the United Nations’ Human World Urban Campaign initiative established to promote business practices, models and technologies that provide viable solutions to the challenges of urbanisation.

Further details of this initiative are available here.

You are invited to submit your ideas/concepts of how you could forward the aim of Better cities, better lives. The jury will be looking for ideas/innovation/notated sketches rather than detailed drawings. You may select a specific city/challenge or a generic solution.

Format: 1 A2 PDF (portrait)

Deadline: Friday 07 September 2012

Cost: Entry is free

Judging: A panel of WAN AWARD judges will assess the submissions and draw up six shortlisted entries. The winner will be announced at World Architecture Day 2012: London on Monday 01 October.

The winner will receive an iPad and their submission will be published in WAN’s News Review to our 230,000 global readership.

Send entries to

Wednesday 08 August 2012
Lift off for a third runway at London’s Heathrow Airport
Tue 25 Oct 2016
Traffic in Britain’s cities slower than a horse and cart
Mon 17 Oct 2016
London’s global competiveness at stake warns NLA
Thu 13 Oct 2016
New software aids earthquake recovery
Thu 06 Oct 2016
Perkins+Will commits to Fitwel Certification for North American offices
Wed 05 Oct 2016
Benoy Appoints New Directors
Thu 29 Sep 2016
Biomimicry in Architecture 2nd edition
Fri 23 Sep 2016
2016 AIA|LA Presidential Honourees announced by American Institute of Architects Los Angeles Chapter
Mon 19 Sep 2016