SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Global architecture competition for students - Better cities, better lives

Open to: All architecture students (undergraduates/architects in training)

The brief: The UIA theme for 'World Architecture Day 2012: London' is Architects are city changers. As global populations rise, architects will be responsible for shaping the urban fabric and developing the necessary tools to accommodate the citizens of the 21st century. This theme embraces the United Nations’ Human World Urban Campaign initiative established to promote business practices, models and technologies that provide viable solutions to the challenges of urbanisation.

Further details of this initiative are available here.

You are invited to submit your ideas/concepts of how you could forward the aim of Better cities, better lives. The jury will be looking for ideas/innovation/notated sketches rather than detailed drawings. You may select a specific city/challenge or a generic solution.

Format: 1 A2 PDF (portrait)

Deadline: Friday 07 September 2012

Cost: Entry is free

Judging: A panel of WAN AWARD judges will assess the submissions and draw up six shortlisted entries. The winner will be announced at World Architecture Day 2012: London on Monday 01 October.

The winner will receive an iPad and their submission will be published in WAN’s News Review to our 230,000 global readership.

Send entries to caroline.stephens@wantoday.com

IN BRIEF
Wednesday 08 August 2012
Atkins approached by Canadian rival
Wed 05 Apr 2017
HITT Contracting opens San Francisco Bay Area office
Tue 04 Apr 2017
Design team sought for redevelopment of Winchester’s Station Approach
Fri 31 Mar 2017
Grant Associates expands presence in Singapore
Mon 27 Mar 2017
RMJM Appointed as Interior Designer for Two Inter Terminal Stations at Sheremetyevo Airport
Wed 15 Mar 2017
Assael Architecture has best year ever and promotes four new directors
Thu 16 Feb 2017
Perkins+Will rings in the New Year with a new MD in Houston
Tue 07 Feb 2017
HOK joins Well Living Lab Alliance
Thu 02 Feb 2017