SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Global architecture competition for students - Better cities, better lives

Open to: All architecture students (undergraduates/architects in training)

The brief: The UIA theme for 'World Architecture Day 2012: London' is Architects are city changers. As global populations rise, architects will be responsible for shaping the urban fabric and developing the necessary tools to accommodate the citizens of the 21st century. This theme embraces the United Nations’ Human World Urban Campaign initiative established to promote business practices, models and technologies that provide viable solutions to the challenges of urbanisation.

Further details of this initiative are available here.

You are invited to submit your ideas/concepts of how you could forward the aim of Better cities, better lives. The jury will be looking for ideas/innovation/notated sketches rather than detailed drawings. You may select a specific city/challenge or a generic solution.

Format: 1 A2 PDF (portrait)

Deadline: Friday 07 September 2012

Cost: Entry is free

Judging: A panel of WAN AWARD judges will assess the submissions and draw up six shortlisted entries. The winner will be announced at World Architecture Day 2012: London on Monday 01 October.

The winner will receive an iPad and their submission will be published in WAN’s News Review to our 230,000 global readership.

Send entries to caroline.stephens@wantoday.com

IN BRIEF
Wednesday 08 August 2012
Right to Build Task Force announces five free days of support for organisations working to deliver new community-led housing
Fri 08 Jun 2018
Darling Associates expands northwards with the acquisition of specialist practice Architect-CT
Mon 04 Jun 2018
Will Alsop 1947- 2018
Mon 14 May 2018
Perkins+Will strengthens its London architecture team with new senior appointment
Wed 25 Apr 2018
LIAM FOX LAUNCHES AWARDS FOR BEST BUSINESS PARTNERSHIPS OF THE FUTURE
Tue 20 Mar 2018
NBBJ London office announces strategic leadership additions
Tue 06 Mar 2018
Casey Jones joins Perkins+Will
Thu 22 Feb 2018
David Chipperfield Architects Works 2018
Mon 05 Feb 2018