SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
A Long-Awaited Tribute: Frank Lloyd Wright’s Usonian House and Pavilion at the Guggenheim from 27 July

On Friday 27 July, the Guggenheim Museum in New York will launch a new exhibition showcasing Frank Lloyd Wright’s first buildings in New York City. A Long-Awaited Tribute: Frank Lloyd Wright’s Usonian House and Pavilion will be on display at the Guggenheim (itself designed by the legendary architect) until 13 February 2013 and will focus on a pavilion and model Usonian house which once stood on the site of the Guggenheim to exhibit Wright’s work.

Comprised of glass, fibreboard and pipe columns, the pavilion structure totalled almost 10,000 sq ft and stood at more than 20ft high. Internally it displayed a detailed exhibition of Wright’s architectural designs including sixteen building models, drawings and photographs. Nearby could be found a full-scale model of a two-bedroom Usonian house, fully-furnished and developed from a concept formed by Wright in the mid-1930s.

More details can be found here.

IN BRIEF
Tuesday 17 July 2012
Assael Architecture has best year ever and promotes four new directors
Thu 16 Feb 2017
Perkins+Will rings in the New Year with a new MD in Houston
Tue 07 Feb 2017
HOK joins Well Living Lab Alliance
Thu 02 Feb 2017
AIA Los Angeles is Proud to Announce Our 2017 Board of Directors
Thu 26 Jan 2017
The American Institute of Architects – Long Beach / South Bay Chapter announces 2017's Board of Directors
Mon 23 Jan 2017
Robert Adam named 15th Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate
Thu 19 Jan 2017
HOK Strengthens London Office with three key additions
Mon 16 Jan 2017
Perkins+Will welcomes Martin Leitner as new leader of cities and sites practice
Tue 10 Jan 2017