A Long-Awaited Tribute: Frank Lloyd Wright’s Usonian House and Pavilion at the Guggenheim from 27 July

On Friday 27 July, the Guggenheim Museum in New York will launch a new exhibition showcasing Frank Lloyd Wright’s first buildings in New York City. A Long-Awaited Tribute: Frank Lloyd Wright’s Usonian House and Pavilion will be on display at the Guggenheim (itself designed by the legendary architect) until 13 February 2013 and will focus on a pavilion and model Usonian house which once stood on the site of the Guggenheim to exhibit Wright’s work.

Comprised of glass, fibreboard and pipe columns, the pavilion structure totalled almost 10,000 sq ft and stood at more than 20ft high. Internally it displayed a detailed exhibition of Wright’s architectural designs including sixteen building models, drawings and photographs. Nearby could be found a full-scale model of a two-bedroom Usonian house, fully-furnished and developed from a concept formed by Wright in the mid-1930s.

More details can be found here.

Tuesday 17 July 2012
Lift off for a third runway at London’s Heathrow Airport
Tue 25 Oct 2016
Traffic in Britain’s cities slower than a horse and cart
Mon 17 Oct 2016
London’s global competiveness at stake warns NLA
Thu 13 Oct 2016
New software aids earthquake recovery
Thu 06 Oct 2016
Perkins+Will commits to Fitwel Certification for North American offices
Wed 05 Oct 2016
Benoy Appoints New Directors
Thu 29 Sep 2016
Biomimicry in Architecture 2nd edition
Fri 23 Sep 2016
2016 AIA|LA Presidential Honourees announced by American Institute of Architects Los Angeles Chapter
Mon 19 Sep 2016