SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Serpentine Pavilion opens in London’s Kensington Gardens

This year’s Serpentine Pavilion in Kensington Gardens is to open to the public tomorrow, Friday 1 June 2012. Designed by Herzog & de Meuron with Ai Weiwei and engineers Arup, the temporary pavilion will be on display until October before being relocated as it has been purchased by Usha and Lakshmi Mittal.

A floating platform of water is hoisted above twelve columns symbolising the eleven past pavilions and this year’s structure. Originally the form was meant to include excavated foundations of the past pavilions but as Royal Parks’ guidelines stipulate that all foundations must be removed post-pavilion, these are missing from the finished structure.

A full review of the 2012 Serpentine Pavilion will be issued in the next News Review (6 June 2012).

IN BRIEF
Thursday 31 May 2012
WAN Awards Judge in the news
Tue 30 Aug 2016
Arup promotes John Karn to Principal
Tue 23 Aug 2016
London gets a new night tube service
Thu 18 Aug 2016
Finsbury Leisure Centre Design Competition: Winner announced
Tue 16 Aug 2016
Sydney Opera House to be upgraded
Fri 12 Aug 2016
Royal College of Art and Malcolm Reading Consultants announce Battersea South Architect shortlist
Thu 11 Aug 2016
Gary Neville unveils his £200 million vision for Manchester city centre
Fri 29 Jul 2016
British engineers Eckersley O’Callaghan invest in French practice
Thu 28 Jul 2016