SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Serpentine Pavilion opens in London’s Kensington Gardens

This year’s Serpentine Pavilion in Kensington Gardens is to open to the public tomorrow, Friday 1 June 2012. Designed by Herzog & de Meuron with Ai Weiwei and engineers Arup, the temporary pavilion will be on display until October before being relocated as it has been purchased by Usha and Lakshmi Mittal.

A floating platform of water is hoisted above twelve columns symbolising the eleven past pavilions and this year’s structure. Originally the form was meant to include excavated foundations of the past pavilions but as Royal Parks’ guidelines stipulate that all foundations must be removed post-pavilion, these are missing from the finished structure.

A full review of the 2012 Serpentine Pavilion will be issued in the next News Review (6 June 2012).

IN BRIEF
Thursday 31 May 2012
RMJM Appointed as Interior Designer for Two Inter Terminal Stations at Sheremetyevo Airport
Wed 15 Mar 2017
Assael Architecture has best year ever and promotes four new directors
Thu 16 Feb 2017
Perkins+Will rings in the New Year with a new MD in Houston
Tue 07 Feb 2017
HOK joins Well Living Lab Alliance
Thu 02 Feb 2017
AIA Los Angeles is Proud to Announce Our 2017 Board of Directors
Thu 26 Jan 2017
The American Institute of Architects – Long Beach / South Bay Chapter announces 2017's Board of Directors
Mon 23 Jan 2017
Robert Adam named 15th Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate
Thu 19 Jan 2017
HOK Strengthens London Office with three key additions
Mon 16 Jan 2017