SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Serpentine Pavilion opens in London’s Kensington Gardens

This year’s Serpentine Pavilion in Kensington Gardens is to open to the public tomorrow, Friday 1 June 2012. Designed by Herzog & de Meuron with Ai Weiwei and engineers Arup, the temporary pavilion will be on display until October before being relocated as it has been purchased by Usha and Lakshmi Mittal.

A floating platform of water is hoisted above twelve columns symbolising the eleven past pavilions and this year’s structure. Originally the form was meant to include excavated foundations of the past pavilions but as Royal Parks’ guidelines stipulate that all foundations must be removed post-pavilion, these are missing from the finished structure.

A full review of the 2012 Serpentine Pavilion will be issued in the next News Review (6 June 2012).

IN BRIEF
Thursday 31 May 2012
Winner of Leicester design competition announced
Fri 21 Aug 2015
Kingston University gets go ahead for Grafton’s first UK building
Wed 19 Aug 2015
Tolkien fans aim to raise £2bn to recreate city
Mon 17 Aug 2015
Open Call for the British Pavilion at the 14th Venice Architecture Biennale
Fri 07 Aug 2015
RIBA London and RIBA Competitions announce winner to design the RIBA Lounge at MIPIM UK
Tue 04 Aug 2015
Nigel Lea joins Gensler as a Design Director
Thu 30 Jul 2015
Architect appointed for next building at Coventry’s Friargate
Wed 29 Jul 2015
Duravit launches third annual Designer Dream Bath competition
Mon 27 Jul 2015