SEARCH IN BRIEF

 
Serpentine Pavilion opens in London’s Kensington Gardens

This year’s Serpentine Pavilion in Kensington Gardens is to open to the public tomorrow, Friday 1 June 2012. Designed by Herzog & de Meuron with Ai Weiwei and engineers Arup, the temporary pavilion will be on display until October before being relocated as it has been purchased by Usha and Lakshmi Mittal.

A floating platform of water is hoisted above twelve columns symbolising the eleven past pavilions and this year’s structure. Originally the form was meant to include excavated foundations of the past pavilions but as Royal Parks’ guidelines stipulate that all foundations must be removed post-pavilion, these are missing from the finished structure.

A full review of the 2012 Serpentine Pavilion will be issued in the next News Review (6 June 2012).

IN BRIEF
Thursday 31 May 2012
Will Alsop 1947- 2018
Mon 14 May 2018
Perkins+Will strengthens its London architecture team with new senior appointment
Wed 25 Apr 2018
LIAM FOX LAUNCHES AWARDS FOR BEST BUSINESS PARTNERSHIPS OF THE FUTURE
Tue 20 Mar 2018
NBBJ London office announces strategic leadership additions
Tue 06 Mar 2018
Casey Jones joins Perkins+Will
Thu 22 Feb 2018
David Chipperfield Architects Works 2018
Mon 05 Feb 2018
Darling Associates expands leadership
Tue 16 Jan 2018
Woods Bagot Announces New China Head
Wed 03 Jan 2018